Merwin's Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2005
This came out really good! I didn't cut the chicken up into pieces and instead used the whole breast so I had to fry for a little longer. I thought they might be lacking in flavor but the mushrooms and sauce more than make up for it. I think if I did add salt to the flour it would have made it too salty. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2005
My teenage daughter exclaimed, "Oh my gosh, I can't stop eating this!" It is so tasty, you will want to double the sauce. I added shallots, garlic and diced prosciutto along with the mushrooms. Also, some corn starch dissolved in chicken broth and a splash of heavy cream just before serving to thicken the sauce. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
This recipe is excellent. I cook every Tuesday and Thursday for my Husband and his co-workers. They loved this new easy recipe. And every recipe must have meat. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2005
I add garlic and extra lemon for more flavor. Also thicken the sauce with a flour/water mixture
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: East Northport, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2005
Awesome! Who knew you could make this at home?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2004
Good Recipe! I changed a few things though. Instead of using egg and just flour I omited the egg and added 1/2 tsp garlic powder, 1/4 tsp black pepper, 1/2 tsp dried oregano to 1/4 cup flour and dipped the chicken in that and then fried it. I didn't have the meat extract and couldn't find it at 2 grocery stores so I ommitted it and added 1 tsp chicken bullion granules. I used cooking wine so didn't add any additional salt. Before swirling the butter and juice, I added about 1/2 cup heavy whipping cream and thickened it with a water/flour mixture. I served it to guests and they loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2004
Excellent!!Even my 7 year old who likes only pb & j loved this chicken..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This just became my favorite recipe. I brought the laptop in the kitchen, made this and just took my first bite. Mmmm!!! I did not have meat extract, so I used beef broth instead of the chicken broth. I also added 1/2 cup heavy cream as another suggested, Awesome!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNSCOOKIN

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2003
This Marsala is wonderful! I made it exactly as Merwin wrote it and it was delicious. I wouldn't change a thing. Way to go Chef Merwin!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2005
This is very good. I use shallots, garlic and mushrooms in the sauce along with the wine. I added fresh chopped Italian parsley just before serving. Wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States