Merwin's Chicken Marsala Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2009
Delicious! I was very happy how this one came out. I did what the reviews said and used a little less Oregano & am glad I did. I also added a tiny bit of cornstarch at the very end to thicken the sauce. Other than that I followed the recipe & thought it turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
An excellent authentic Marsala. To add complexity to the flavor, and easily bring this up to restaurant quality, consider the following modifications, MERWIN MARSALA 1.1: 1) Only use 3/4 pound chicken with the ingredients specified, reducing the serving size to three or so. 2) Substitute 1 tsp. "Gravy Master" for "meat extract" - I can only assume that's what Merwin meant. At any rate, it works wonderfully and adds a rich color and flavor to the sauce. 3) Substitute 2 tbsp. each of both butter and margarine instead of 4 tbsp. butter, since margarine burns less easily. 4) Start with 1/2 tsp. black pepper, no extra salt, and the oregano reduced to 1 tsp., and work from there. Also, consider adding 1/2 tsp. sweet Hungarian paprika to the other dry spices. 5) Add one large clove of finely chopped garlic and one large shallot to the butter in step (1) first, allowing them to cook a little before adding the chicken. Sprinkle approximately 1/2 the dry spice on the chicken *before* cooking, and save the rest to add to the sauce later, as originally specified. 6) Although I originally used 1/2 cup of Marsala wine as specified, I will probably increase this to 3/4 cup next time. Use some corn starch to thicken the sauce at the end of step (3) if you like your sauce thicker - I used 1 tsp. mixed with 1 oz. cold water. Let the chicken sit in the sauce for a few minutes on low heat at the end. 7) Optional: "Baby Bella" mushrooms instead of white mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
VERY GOOD RECIPE........I PREFER MORE BROTH. HAD TO MAKE XTRA. I ALSO ADDED SOME GARLIC.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Upper Marlboro, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2007
This recipe is good, but not the best, but is better than some of the other recipes I have found. I was looking to find a recipe that tasted more like chicken marsala I got at the Bucca Di Beppo Restraunt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Box Elder, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Copperas Cove, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2007
Another fabulous marsala recipe! I made 70 chicken breasts for our daughter's grad party so with that much meat, I didn't even bother measuring the wine. I did add a few more seasonings but that's all this needed. My guests loved this dish and it was even better the second day at our post grad party!! Thanks so much L. Chambers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
I cut the Marsala wine in half, and this is the best ever!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troutdale, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2006
this was wonderful. i made a few changes. i added 1 clove of chopped garlic. i also added some chopped shallots. i used olive oil instead of veg oil. only needed a pinch of oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Sunrise, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
I have used this recipe many times and it always turns out great. I double all the liquid amounts to make extra sauce for angel hair pasta.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2006
This is one of my favorites!!! It has awesome flavor. Add a little wine and broth and then thicken with a water flour mixture for a nice sauce to put over pasta along with the chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
this was ok. The oregano flavor was a little strong for my taste. I might try it again with less oregano.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Chicken Marsala

A classic Italian chicken with mushrooms and wine sauce.

Chicken Marsala

This amazing, company-worthy chicken dish is ready in just 30 minutes.

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States