Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
This was SO GOOD! I'll never make "normal" stuffing again. We're a vegetarian household so I used vegetable bouillon instead of chicken broth, and had to use dried herbs (with oregano since I didn't have thyme), but it still turned out delish! I also used about two and a half cups of bread crumbs (homemade), and am glad for it... one cup doesn't seem like it would have given it enough crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2011
Way too much cheese - I reduced by half and it was perfect. This is a delicious recipe! I'm not big on rosemary so did thyme and Penzey's Fox Point, absolutely delicious. I also expedited the process by cooking the squash fully on the stovetop, mixing in half the cheese/breadcrumbs into the squash with some milk + boullion instead of broth, then put in a dish, topped with the rest of the cheese/breadcrumbs and baked til the top was crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This was a great recipe. I added some apples and a bit of sage in the topping. It had a nice crisp. Will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
Tasty. The crust had a perfect amount of crunch and had a nice flavor from the herbs. I cut the amount of cheese in half and used dried herbs. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holyoke, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
Something different than the usual sweet mapley butternut squash! It took a little bit of time to prepare, which on weeknights I might pass up this recipe. Also, we thought there was a little too much onion, and too herby... we are pretty plain eaters. The cheesy topping though, was AMAZING! I would have never thought to put cheddar with squash! Yum, I will absolutely be making this again, with half of the onion & herbs next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MissBadger

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2011
Great recipe! The topping can be made with just cheddar and parmesean crumbled with bread crumbs and a tblsp of butter. Also, I found a cup of stock was WAY too much liquid. I had to pour some off, leaving the whole thing a bit overdone. Otherwise, this was just perfect, even for the squash haters in the house! I did have some trouble sauteing the squash, I had to do it in 2 batches. In hindsight I think everything up to browning the topping could be done in a large pan or pot as one already suggested, and browning the squash can be skipped. Still tasted great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Caledon, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
I made a few alterations to this recipe, but the combination of flavors is out of this world. I cut the cheese in half, and used the pre-shredded Italian blend so that the squash takes the main stage. I also added oregano to make it a little more savory. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BellaSmartino

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2011
Delicious! I followed the recipe exactly except I used vegetable broth instead of chicken to make it vegetarian.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
My family loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ellicott City, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fort Carson, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2010
hummm...i honestly don't know what i did wrong. this has potential but i felt like I was serving a cheese/bread crumb crust with some squash. There was just way too much topping for the squash underneath. I am going to make again and I will review again, but am going to cut the topping in half or more. the squash was delish underneath. like I said, I felt the potential so I will m ake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodbury, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Groton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 126) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States