Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2012
This was awesome! I followed the recipe exactly except due to oven availability issues, I followed the suggestion to do most of the cooking on the stovetop. Couldn't find any Gruyere, so I used some sharp sheep's milk cheese instead, but I really think you could use any sort of "bitey" cheese and it would be fantastic. Making it again this week for a pot-luck! Thank you so much for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was a hit at our house....we have veggie night once a week. This week butternut squash was the main course. This recipe was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2012
I was a little sceptical of this dish before I made it. But I wanted to make a butternut squash dish that wasn't so sweet, more savory. Well this dish was perfect! I don't know if it was the herbs or what, but it almost tasted like I was eatting stuffing. It was so good! I followed the recipe except for I used less gruyere cheese than it called for. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Can't wait to make it again for Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Arnberg
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
This recipe is soooo good! I recommend it to those who are scared to fix butternut squash and or have others taste it. I fixed it for my husband who has never had butternut squash and he loved it. It is very tasty and rich. Great for Thanksgiving or anytime during the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I made this for a dinner party last night. It is a lot of work....of course just cutting up a butternut squash takes some time. After reading other reviews, I didn't add quite as much of the herbs as it called for, so they weren't overwhelming. I could have added more. It does make a lot of topping, so next time I am going to try mixing 1/2 of the cheeese herb mixture w/o the breadcrumbs into the squash portion, then add the rest of the cheese mixture w/ the breadcrumbs (used panko!)to the top. I had to make the squash portion ahead of time, so I did it on the stove as the directions stated, then turned it down and put the cover on it. I stirred it occasionally so it wouldn't burn, then left it with the cover on while I went to a football game. When I had to prepare it, I put it in the casserole dish, and brought it to the party. I heated it up in the oven then added the topping. After the cheese melted, I put it under the broiler. It was very good, and got rave reviews. For those that complained about the expense....well butternut squash is very inexpensive, I grow my own herbs, so its really just the cheese. This makes a lot, so it goes a long way and its cheaper than eating out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
This recipe is superior!! Originally fron Bon Appetit, it was given to me years ago by a colleague at work, and is now a holiday favorite, but DON'T just keep it for holidays!! Sweet, tangy, creamy crunchy...yum!!! It has flavor that all will enjoy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2012
Okay, I just made this for dinner. I have never eaten or cooked butternut squash before. It definitely takes a strong peeler and sharp knife but, oh, is it worth it! The taste and texture are wonderful. I only used sharp cheddar and parmesan (what I had) but I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PaulaF

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I made the recipe as is (i happened to have all of the ingredients on hand amazingly) except panko vs. bread crumbs. I thought it was really good and my non-veggie loving husband loved it! We like thyme and rosemary and didn't find it overpowering. I would agree with other reviews, the expensive cheese could be substituted. I will definitely make this again and have already passed on the recipe to a friend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anacortes, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2012
Made this tonight - delicious. I used sharp cheddar and asiago (I always have asiago on hand, it's my favorite cheese and it's close in flavor to Gruyere.) I also added potatos, brown russet that I sliced in thin slices dollar style. I just thought it needed something else. All in all, this was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States