Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made this a number of ties, and always get compliments on it. I sometimes roast the squash in the oven to get a caramelized taste to it, then put in in the pan with the broth. Both ways delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made a lot of substitutions and it still came out great. I love this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of butter, almond meal instead of bread crumbs, amber agave syrup instead of brown sugar, mozzarella cheese instead of Gruyere cheese, my seasonings were all from a bottle, and I used a different kind of squash. I was very worried about how it would taste - it was delicious. YUM!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
I thought this was great! Someone gave me a butternut squash and I had no idea what to do with it so I tried this recipe and loved it. I did take the advise of other reviewers and went with a cheaper cheese blend of Sharp cheddar, Romano and parmesan cheese. My 9 year old daughter is vegetarian so we used veggie stock instead of chicken. We all loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
Very tasty used the cheese I had in the fridge and my fresh dried herbs, added those to the stove top method used by Clare. Will definatly make this again Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Very good!! I thought way too much topping so I didn't put all on. The cheese especially seemed excessive and I only grated about 3/4 of the amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meeky

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stratford, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was pretty good! I didn't use the Grueyer cheese just because of the price and just used what I had on hand a combination of Sharp Cheddar and Colby Jack. I liked it and probably will make it again, one of my daughters said she thought it tasted like a lasagna but with squash, my husband said in cube form it was too strong. He thinks next time I make it I should mash the squash first before adding the cheese topping instead of leaving it cubed. All in all it wasn't a bad recipe and I will make it again. I also add some freshly ground black pepper and realized I added a tbsp of brown sugar instead of a tsp. I think I will keep this addition. It gave it a wonderful mix of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was very tasty. Even approved by non-squash eaters in my family. I skipped the Gruyere cheese; just used cheddar & Parmesan. Also, because of oven space, I just let the mixture simmer on the stove for 45 minutes to soften & absorb the liquid. Then toasted the cheese on top for 15 minutes in oven. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made two minor changes, but WOW what a difference. I left out the herbs and added 8 strips of crubled bacon while it was cooking before the cheese. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe several times just using the cheeses I have in the house and it turns out wonderful every time. I have used cheddar, mozzarella, parm, and feta. No need to buy anything expensive. I have also used acorn squash on a few occasions and I like that better than the butternut. This is a favorite in my household no matter how I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I liked the taste, followed the directions completely. I thought the topping was too dry so I think I'll try the Panko bread crumbs next time to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States