Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2013
This was pretty good! I didn't use the Grueyer cheese just because of the price and just used what I had on hand a combination of Sharp Cheddar and Colby Jack. I liked it and probably will make it again, one of my daughters said she thought it tasted like a lasagna but with squash, my husband said in cube form it was too strong. He thinks next time I make it I should mash the squash first before adding the cheese topping instead of leaving it cubed. All in all it wasn't a bad recipe and I will make it again. I also add some freshly ground black pepper and realized I added a tbsp of brown sugar instead of a tsp. I think I will keep this addition. It gave it a wonderful mix of sweet and savory.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
This was very tasty. Even approved by non-squash eaters in my family. I skipped the Gruyere cheese; just used cheddar & Parmesan. Also, because of oven space, I just let the mixture simmer on the stove for 45 minutes to soften & absorb the liquid. Then toasted the cheese on top for 15 minutes in oven. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2013
I made two minor changes, but WOW what a difference. I left out the herbs and added 8 strips of crubled bacon while it was cooking before the cheese. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2013
I have made this recipe several times just using the cheeses I have in the house and it turns out wonderful every time. I have used cheddar, mozzarella, parm, and feta. No need to buy anything expensive. I have also used acorn squash on a few occasions and I like that better than the butternut. This is a favorite in my household no matter how I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2013
I liked the taste, followed the directions completely. I thought the topping was too dry so I think I'll try the Panko bread crumbs next time to see if that makes a difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2013
tried it with sweet potato too and still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
Love it! Got everything ready, including the squash cooked on top of the stove. Then put in baking dish and added topping mixed with Panko and also added tarragon instead of thyme! Fresh Rosemary is the key!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kealasgram

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winchester, New Hampshire, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2012
Got a squash from my neighbor, had no idea what to do with it so here I am....this was pretty good! Had to sub mozzarella cheese, but still good. Good way to use up the gifts from the neighbors, thanks for the post :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carol Stream, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
Made this and it was a hit!I used less of the Cheddar and Parmesan because I am a huge fan of Gruyere.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by novellainsect

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
This is really quite good but very rich. Next time I make it, I would double the squash and half the cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 114) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States