Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
i tried a couple sweet potatoe recipes to take for our thanks. dinner. I settled on this one and those that like sweet potatoes loved it. My store didn't have guryere so i used mozz. also being veg. i used veg broth then put parm on top and let brown. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Simi Valley, California, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I can't believe that I forgot to rate this one - not like he needs another rave review, but I loved this recipe, and will make it often. For those worried about the expense of the Gruyere cheese, you can also make it with mozzarella or cheddar or a nicely flavorful swiss. I have my own all year herb pots so I made it with fresh rosemary and thyme.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I'm new to this website and I can't find a place to ask a question about this recipe...Is this something that I can make ahead of time? It sounds delicious, I'm concerned that if I make it ahead of time it won't reheat well? What do you think? Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2008
I have made this for 30 odd years. The 1st part can all be done on the stove top in a large saucepan. Just add the butternut along with the garlic and onions. Cook 5 min.,then add the stock,cover with lid. Bring to boil, reduce heat, simmer till tender.Remove lid turn up heat and reduce liquid till just moist. (don't let it burn). Put in baking dish and add topping. Just use tasty chedder and parm., cheese. The herbs over power the expensive cheese so why waste your money.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
262 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Clare

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
This takes a few steps and some time, but it's really good. It's also very easy. I didn't use any cheese other than cheddar and parmesan, but it's still really good that way. Thanks for the recipe--another good way to make squash. :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
Maybe I did something wrong- There didn't seem to be enough cheese at all...the topping was good but the squash was pretty bland. I wanted it to be more flavorful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2008
We loved this! My 7yo says the flavor reminds her of stuffing. I brought the price down a bit by using Cheddar and Mozzarella, and used dried herbs (1 tsp each) in place of fresh. We'll be having this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Well! I am so glad I picked today to finally make and review this dish! :) I ended up buying an Emmentaler for the Gruyere, as I remember someone recommending it. It was actually slightly cheaper than the regular Gruyere, not that it mattered - it was not as outrageously priced here as it is in other areas, apparently, and if it was I simply would not have made this for a typical Sunday dinner, nor would I have reviewed it. Only changes I made were to use panko bread crumbs, vegetable stock and thyme that I had dried a few weeks ago, all substitutions based on what I had on hand. I can't say enough about this - it was absolutely delicious! A golden, crunchy crust over delicious sweet butternut squash - just heavenly! Kept trying to think of something to add or change, but the best I could do was to sprinkle some freshly cracked pepper before eating it. Thanks for coming up with a new favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
One of the considerations I use in rating any recipe is the cost of the ingredients vs. the taste. Some recipes are worth the expense and some aren't. This one wasn't. My husband and I thought the flavor of this recipe was just OK. I won't make it again because I didn't think it was worth the time it took to make it, but mainly because it is VERY expensive to make. I live in Atlanta and Gruyere cheese is $19.00 per pound! That's right -- an 8 oz. block of it cost me $9.50. When you add in the cost of fresh rosemary and thyme, extra sharp cheddar, and the cost of the squash, it costs about $18.00 to make this dish. It would have to be extra super delicious for me to pay this much to make it again and it just wasn't.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
220 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This was FANTASTIC!! Im making this again for thanksgiving. I didnt change a thing. Please post some more recipes, I read in your profile that your the king at thanksgiving!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 101-110 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States