Merritt's Butternut Squash Gratin Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2014
Would be better with 1/3 the topping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I picked this recipe for my church's Oktoberfest. Unfortunately I should have tested it out first to see how it would taste. I also accidentally put the broth in too early and the breadcrumbs were still powdery when they came out of the oven. It was not worth it and I will not be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle Pounds

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2014
Yum, thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aimeelynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Cruz, California, USA
Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Amazing!! Made it exactly as the recipe stated the first time and it was delish....Tonight, I didn't have all the ingredients or the oven space. I made the onion/squash/sugar/garlic/stock mixture on the stove top and cooked until tender. Then I added chopped basil instead of rosemary. Cooked until almost all the liquid was out. When the oven freed up, I spread the mixture out on a small jelly roll pan and sprinkled with swiss cheese and italian bread crumbs and broiled for a few minutes. We ate all the squash and had leftover chicken. It's normally the veggie that is left over. A definite keeper as is or as a springboard for other variations.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
After I baked the butternut squash for 50 minutes and considered the huge pile of bread crumbs/cheese that I was supposed to pour on the dish for the final 15 minutes, I just couldn't bring myself to do it. I used probably half of the cheese/bread crumb mixture and while I was very impressed with the flavor IDEA of the thing, it was just WAY TOO GREASY and salty. I may try what a previous reviewer said--twice the squash and half the cheese mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
Delicious way to serve Butternut Squash. It does make a lot so next time I make this I will take it to a family gathering versus cooking for my husband and I. Would definitely make again! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
This was the biggest hit for our Christmas eve dinner! Fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2013
I tried this recipe at a potluck with my fellow employees and fell in love with it! I decided to share it with my family over Christmas and they did too! My husband is not a big fan of Gruyere so I used Asiago, Jack and Sharp Cheddar and still topped it with Parmesan. I will make this again without a doubt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mindy Rose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: Renton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I've made this a number of ties, and always get compliments on it. I sometimes roast the squash in the oven to get a caramelized taste to it, then put in in the pan with the broth. Both ways delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
I made a lot of substitutions and it still came out great. I love this recipe. I used coconut oil instead of butter, almond meal instead of bread crumbs, amber agave syrup instead of brown sugar, mozzarella cheese instead of Gruyere cheese, my seasonings were all from a bottle, and I used a different kind of squash. I was very worried about how it would taste - it was delicious. YUM!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 117) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey Day Recipes
Top Turkey Day Recipes

So many classic recipes to please your pilgrims.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Simple Roasted Butternut Squash

A super-simple, savory side dish that’s ready in no time.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States