Merlot-Peppercorn Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2014
Needs more detailed directions as to when to turn over the steak, so it remains tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2014
Just fantastic. As others have mentioned, this is not really a sauce, but rather a reduction. I've prepared this recipe five or six times but have reduced the amount of peppercorns to one tablespoon and actually have ground them up into a coarse texture. I dice the rosemary as well. After grilling the New York strips (medium rare) I slice the steaks into 1/4 inch strips then apply the 'sauce'. This is my 'go to' recipe if I want to impress company.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 3, 2013
I tried this without advance planning, so had to go with ingredients I had on hand (canned mushrooms, cracked pepper, cabernet sauvignon instead of merlot) and it was still excellent! Thanks to other reviewers, I used only 1 Tbl of Worcestershire, and a little extra wine. LOVED IT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
I used an 8 oz container of sliced mushrooms and 1/4 t. of dried rosemary instead of 1/2 t. of fresh rosemary. The flavor of the mushrooms and sauce was great, but we picked around all the peppercorns. Next time I'll probably just use 1 T. freshly ground black pepper and see how that goes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2013
This was pretty good. I used the recipe exactly as written and we thought it was missing something. It needed heat and we thought the sauce could be thicker as well. I doubled the recipe and once cooked I removed the peppercorns as they were hard and a distraction. In another pan I made a butter/flour roux then added back the liquid from the recipe. To that we added about 1/3 cup Sriracha Sauce for some heat. It only took a minute to thicken up and I added the mushrooms back in. The sauce was savory, tangy with a little punch of heat and it held onto the mushrooms and steak perfectly. I also used two 8oz containers of mushrooms. The recipe is a good base and I will use it again with my changes as we all really enjoyed it. Going to add shallots next time.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Recipe is way to acidic. Benefits from cutting back on the Worcester sauce, cutting out the Balsamic altogether and adding some cream to balance the acidity.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by swallowswing

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chester, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We tried this and really liked it. I did change it up also. I used smoked garlic that I got at our farmers market and also after taking the steaks out of the pan I deglazed pan with the sauce. I wll try it with cream as suggested as that sound good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
very nice....I did reduce it by more than 1/3rd, just for a strong more concentrated flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
Light on flavor according to the family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Costa Mesa, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I had to double this recipe to have enough for a dinner party. It was a huge hit with beef tenderloin au poivre. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States