Merlot-Peppercorn Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I will be fixing this again! Do get fresh, good quality peppercorns! Mine were cheap and old and didn't taste great compared to the ones in a friends's dish. I would strained them out to leave the flavor but not the corn itself. Oh, and don't put peppercorns in the garbage disposal - almost had to call a repair man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
My husband and I loved this sauce. We did it without mushrooms cause he doesn't like them, and it still was delicious. I did increase to 1 cup of wine and only 1 tablespoon of worcestershire - that was just personal taste. Great base recipe that you can do a lot to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
very good, big hit in my house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
This is very tasty! The second time I made this sauce I added more mushrooms and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
excellent! I added a small carton of double cream as we prefer a creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Reminded me of peppercorn steak I had in Germany at a castle while I was there waiting to come home after being sent there from Afghanistan. It was the first real thing I had been able to eat and keep down so this is very special to me. I too added cream to it because the sauce I had also had cream but everything else was the same. Thank you for bringing back excellent memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divemistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Awesome! and gave me an idea for a spin on my own recipe, i added a bit more garlic and merlot and used soaked green peppercorns and lots of them instead of black, much softer and not as strong so i added a liitle bit of cracked black pepper. Removed my fillets from the pan and threw it together with the steak juices, 10 mins all done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I had to double this recipe to have enough for a dinner party. It was a huge hit with beef tenderloin au poivre. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Easley, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2012
very nice....I did reduce it by more than 1/3rd, just for a strong more concentrated flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gene

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
We tried this and really liked it. I did change it up also. I used smoked garlic that I got at our farmers market and also after taking the steaks out of the pan I deglazed pan with the sauce. I wll try it with cream as suggested as that sound good too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Flank Steak Roulade

Watch Chef John butterfly, stuff, roll, and braise delicious flank steak.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States