Merlot-Peppercorn Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2006
This sauce was pretty good. I will make this again but with some changes. More red wine, and less worchestershire sauce. I added extra garlic, and used olive oil instead of butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
59 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JuiceMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2006
Flavor was good, if you could get around the 2-tablespoons of peppercorn. I would try this recipe again, but would drastically reduce the amount of peppercorn or possibly use 1 tsp of plain black pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Good stuff. I cut back a little on the worcestershire and added a little more red wine, mixed everything but the rosemary togethert, hen soaked the peppercorns in the liquid for a couple of hours. Deglazed the pan I'd used to sear my steaks with the mixture, then added the rosemary after it reduced. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Awesome! and gave me an idea for a spin on my own recipe, i added a bit more garlic and merlot and used soaked green peppercorns and lots of them instead of black, much softer and not as strong so i added a liitle bit of cracked black pepper. Removed my fillets from the pan and threw it together with the steak juices, 10 mins all done!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jason McDonald

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
excellent! I added a small carton of double cream as we prefer a creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I will be fixing this again! Do get fresh, good quality peppercorns! Mine were cheap and old and didn't taste great compared to the ones in a friends's dish. I would strained them out to leave the flavor but not the corn itself. Oh, and don't put peppercorns in the garbage disposal - almost had to call a repair man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2011
Not good. This is not a sauce. This is a reduction of primeval elements. 1 garlic clove vs. 3 tbs of worcestershire sauce and a half pound of pepper???????
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
did not care for this recipe at all. I should have realized it wouldn't meet my preferred creamy sauce taste. Don't care for the wine reduction flavour. Would probably be very good if that's your taste liking. sorry...probably won't make this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2010
After reading some of the other reviews, I reduced the peppercorn to 1 tbsp, and reduced the Worcestershire sauce to 1 tbsp. and increased the wine to 1/2 cup (I used Cab since it was all I had). I sauteed the mushrooms, garlic and Gardein Beefless Tips over high heat until "beef" was seared then added the liquid and reduced the liquid by half. Amazing flavor and super easy to prepare!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by smallu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
Reminded me of peppercorn steak I had in Germany at a castle while I was there waiting to come home after being sent there from Afghanistan. It was the first real thing I had been able to eat and keep down so this is very special to me. I too added cream to it because the sauce I had also had cream but everything else was the same. Thank you for bringing back excellent memories!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Divemistress

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Downers Grove, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States