Merlot-Peppercorn Steak Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2009
I followed most of the suggestions- cut worcestershire in half, added a bit more wine- but still could have cut down on the vinegar. Overall good recipe but needs some fine tuning for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I followed this recipe exactly and I did not like it. In fact it ruined what was supposed to be a romantic dinner. I was very disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
Sorry, followed this recipe exactly and I didn't care for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Bridgewater, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
I followed the recipe exactly. I thought there were way too many peppercorns for the amount of sauce it made. It had a good flavor but I prefer a thicker sauce and this wasnt it. Wont make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nativeSDgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
My husband and I loved this sauce. We did it without mushrooms cause he doesn't like them, and it still was delicious. I did increase to 1 cup of wine and only 1 tablespoon of worcestershire - that was just personal taste. Great base recipe that you can do a lot to.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MIKALA79

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burlington, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Red Deer, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2008
Good stuff. I cut back a little on the worcestershire and added a little more red wine, mixed everything but the rosemary togethert, hen soaked the peppercorns in the liquid for a couple of hours. Deglazed the pan I'd used to sear my steaks with the mixture, then added the rosemary after it reduced. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2008
excellent! I added a small carton of double cream as we prefer a creamy sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2008
very good, big hit in my house. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jill Hammond

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lucky Noodles
Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2008
I will be fixing this again! Do get fresh, good quality peppercorns! Mine were cheap and old and didn't taste great compared to the ones in a friends's dish. I would strained them out to leave the flavor but not the corn itself. Oh, and don't put peppercorns in the garbage disposal - almost had to call a repair man!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lucky Noodles

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hanover, Indiana, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2006
The flavor of the sauce was excellent but the peppercorns were a bit much. Added sliced portabellos instead and was incredible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Pan Sauce Bordelaise

See how to make an incredibly scrumptious red wine steak sauce.

Tarragon Walnut Brown Butter Sauce

This simple brown butter sauce is perfect spooned over white fish.

Marsala Marinated Skirt Steak

See how to make grilled skirt steaks marinated with slightly sweet Marsala wine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States