Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by potatogirl
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2014
Prepared exactly as noted, except I didn't have baking chocolate. I melted unsweet chocolate and chocolate chips & that worked fine. I also watched a video on YouTube to see exactly how to make the correct shapes. Very helpful for my first go round with mushroom making. Turned out so cute --- tons of compliments!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
Great meringue recipe (even if you do not want to make the mushroom shapes), but the mushrooms are so cute, and no more work than a regular meringue cookie. What I learned: recipe doubles easily, makes a lot, use room temp egg whites, beat with whisk attach., and add the tartar and sugar etc. as written (make sure the eggs are beaten a bit and foamy before adding other ingr, as orig recipe states). Sprinkled cocoa on top while wet on some and others piped w/ large star tip and sprinkled w/ green sparkly sanding sugar. TRY THIS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucylovestoeat

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2014
This is a terrific meringue recipe. I found it very easy, it made loads of mushrooms and I had some left over for pretty meringue stars. The assembled mushrooms are adorable. I used my stand mixer with the whisk attachment and I had meringue in no time at all. I'll definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2014
These turned out so cool!! My husband made them to go with a Yule log for Christmas Eve. Mind you he doesn't really cook or bake at all and these taste and look awesome! He just melted chocolate chips rather than chocolate confectioners coating, we weren't really sure what that was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JENNY-REDS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Glenmoore, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
They are super cute and look real. My favorite spritz cookie recipe calls for egg yolks only, so I always have a bunch of egg whites to use up. I use the scrapings of a vanilla bean for flavoring and they came out tasting like a toasted marshmallow, really really good. A nice dark chocolate painted all on the bottom of the cap will give it a good textural foil to the light airy meringue and looks realistic. I used a premium brand bittersweet chips because the chocolate will be a star flavor player. Craft stores now sell little paper mache baskets that resemble the mushroom baskets. Makes a very cute gift for my gluten free friends!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
Turned out great! We made them to put on our Buche de Noel and the class thought they were real mushrooms at first. A few things I wanted to mention: -We are high altitude here, and had to beat the out of the mix. -Be sure you bake them long enough/ don't make them too large, or they will be gooey. -We microwaved the chocolate fifteen seconds at a time, stirring between so it wouldn't separate. -If you leave off the dusting of cocoa powder, you can put on tiny (so they solidify without running) dots of light corn syrup mixed with red food dye for something different.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veronika Rogers

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
very pretty. They taste okay. For the time it takes to make them, I'd rather make something tastier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2014
WOW!!! these turned out awesome. just to be said, 1 hour was not enough so after 1 hour I turned off the oven and left those there for another 2 hours with the oven door closed. just unbelievably awesome. this is of course a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by zahra sh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tehran, Tehran, Iran
Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2014
This was so much fun. The project took a long time, but I loved every minute of it. All of my approx. 25 medium size mushrooms turned out GREAT! Thanks for the recipe and thank you everyone whose comments and photos helped me make these on my first try - with so much success. I've wanted to make these for 20 years. Now I know I can and I plan to keep making them every year. One tip for decorating that I learned on my own: I painted the underside with the same chocolate I used to glue the stem to the top. Then, after a few minutes, when the chocolate was partially set up, I used a toothpick to scratch stripes that looked like the underside of a mushroom. They turned out so realistic, family members were fooled at first. Time consuming but fun!! Oh, and these are delicious as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Rosemarie
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
The mushrooms were a hit for my Yule log cake at Christmas. Everyone loved them and was fooled into thinking they were real. I cut down the sugar a bit as another person mentioned--a quarter less. Some still said they were very sweet, so I can imagine the full sugar amount would be a bit much. For those who are lactose intolerant or going low calorie for dessert, it's a great recipe and sure to please. I will use a pastry bag or a better ziplock bag. They came out uneven, but still realistic. Most people didn't seem to mind. I will definitely do it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 119) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States