Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Best in show, and taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Napa, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2009
I made these mushrooms to adorn the Buche de Noel I made at Christmas. I halved the recipe, which made MORE than enough. Super easy, as long as you have minimal experience with a pastry bag. They looked (and tasted!) great. My one tip is to use a wet fingertip to smooth the mushroom caps if you end up with a bump.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: East Northport, New York, USA
Living In: Lynbrook, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2009
Wonderful! I was amazed at how simple (of coarse tasty) these were, and how great they looked! My first attempt at a meringue was a success. A friend of the family (whom owned their own very successful bakery) said they were definately quality, which made me feel really good considering she does not give false compliments. My son loves them as well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Afie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
So, So awesome! I made these as part of our annual holiday food baskets and they were a HUGE hit. My fiance, who never cooks, made these with me. I also used them to decorate a Buche de Noel for Christmas Eve. These are a keeper and will be part of our baskets every year from here on out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JasBradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Living In: Chico, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2008
these were adorable, and suprisingly easy. But very very sweet, my 5 year old son wouldn't eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
These were so cute and fun to make! Not to mention very tasty. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2008
These are AWESOME!!! I would give them a higher rating if I could. They were so easy to make, despite that I have only made meringue once or twice in my life. I didn't find it time-consuming at all - the prep was simple, and the long part was the bake time which requires no active work. The mushrooms look great, and as a plus, they are absolutely delicious...I had to make myself stop snacking on them so I could use them for my buche de noel. :) Thank you so much for this excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by D. Rasnick
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These little mushrooms are awesome! They are time consuming but not that hard to make. I did have some trouble with the meringue setting but in the end, I improvised. When the meringue would not stay up for the stems I piped 2 long flat pieces for each stem and baked them like normal. Then after the baking I glued the 2 long pieces together with chocolate to form a 3-d stem. However, the stem was rounded on the bottom and they would not stand so I dipped the bottoms in chocolate to form a base and chilled them. Once the bases were set I followed the steps as before and attached the stems to the caps. They were worth it since they were a HUGE hit at my Alice in Wonderland party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Rasnick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is so easy and so fun! I just made them today with my younger sister (something we could actually bond over!) and we had a blast. We mixed a little food colouring with light corn syrup to paint Alyce in Wonderland polka dots onto the mushrooms instead of making them look real. We also added a chocolate base to make sure they stood up since some of the stalks fell over while baking. It really didn't take much chocolate to connect everything together perfectly, or much piping skill to get workable stalks and caps for the mushrooms. They looked great, tasted great, and were a blast to make. Oh - and as a tip, I wasn't sure what a "half cup" of egg whites would turn out to be since I was going egg by egg - it's three egg whites. (Which is perfect for when I make the "cracked sugar cookies I" that calls for three egg yolks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Always a hit - been making them since the recipe appeared in a magazine years ago. Thanks for putting it on here so more folks can enjoy the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

Authentic French Meringues

Discover the techniques for making beautiful meringues.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States