Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Photo by D. Rasnick
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2008
These little mushrooms are awesome! They are time consuming but not that hard to make. I did have some trouble with the meringue setting but in the end, I improvised. When the meringue would not stay up for the stems I piped 2 long flat pieces for each stem and baked them like normal. Then after the baking I glued the 2 long pieces together with chocolate to form a 3-d stem. However, the stem was rounded on the bottom and they would not stand so I dipped the bottoms in chocolate to form a base and chilled them. Once the bases were set I followed the steps as before and attached the stems to the caps. They were worth it since they were a HUGE hit at my Alice in Wonderland party!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by D. Rasnick

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2008
This is so easy and so fun! I just made them today with my younger sister (something we could actually bond over!) and we had a blast. We mixed a little food colouring with light corn syrup to paint Alyce in Wonderland polka dots onto the mushrooms instead of making them look real. We also added a chocolate base to make sure they stood up since some of the stalks fell over while baking. It really didn't take much chocolate to connect everything together perfectly, or much piping skill to get workable stalks and caps for the mushrooms. They looked great, tasted great, and were a blast to make. Oh - and as a tip, I wasn't sure what a "half cup" of egg whites would turn out to be since I was going egg by egg - it's three egg whites. (Which is perfect for when I make the "cracked sugar cookies I" that calls for three egg yolks!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2008
Always a hit - been making them since the recipe appeared in a magazine years ago. Thanks for putting it on here so more folks can enjoy the fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dyer, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinginFL
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2008
I'm still going to give this 5* (but I pretty much screwed it up!)...Okay, I wanted to try a new meringue recipe, and this one sounded good. (Also, I didn't actually make mushrooms, just wanted to make a basic meringue cookie using this recipe). I followed the recipe exactly, except used lemon extract, BIG MISTAKE! The mixture was nice and foamy right up until I added the extract. I later learned that lemon extract is oily, hence 'flattening' the egg whites. My batter ended up flat & runny, but I went ahead and made flat 'discs' on the parchment & baked as directed. I was concerned that it would continue to run, but it didn't- it still kept its shape (see picture). So, I was thinking...maybe I could have placed metal cookie cutters on the parchment & poured in the batter to let it fill the shape? Anyhow...stick w/ VANILLA extract ONLY!! And, of course- I live in Florida & it's June (so it's hot), so that could have effected it...who knows. But I must say that those mushrooms ARE cute...so 5 stars for cuteness!! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinginFL

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Mrs.Williams
Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2008
Ok, I made these today except I just made the actual meringue part of the recipe so I didn't make them into mushrooms. This was the first time that I have ever made meringues and these turned out great and were very easy to make. I'm sorry I didnt do the full recipe, but since it was my first time doing meringue I wanted to use a recipe that was 5 stars and I thought Id start with the basics. I will try the full recipe soon though. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs.Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
Being a young adult, I hadn't heard of these small confections before. So I just had to include them into my holiday cookie gift assortments. Although many people had seen them before, my age group were just floored! A definate treat to leave an impression. The chocolate cofentioners--- I wasn't sure what EXACTLLY is was, so I used Cocoa powder, tasted great ( almost like really marshmallowy hot chocolate!) I also dyed some coconut green, mixed into some corn syrup and dipped the stem bottoms in there for some added realness. For some fantasy-- we made some colored corn syrup and painted little spots to resemble Wonderland mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
These are super cute. I found that if you make a little hole in the bottom of the caps, you can fill them with chocolate for an extra little surprise. For super realistic mushrooms, paint the bottom of the cap with chocolate, add the stem, then use a toothpick to make the 'gills' going out from around the base. Everyone thought these were real mushrooms.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
111 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: London, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2008
These are quite some work, but absoltely amazing. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Delft, Zuid-Holland, Netherlands

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This drew raves at the party I went to at Christmas. A very extraordinary looking meringue!! Pretty to look at good to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ANGIEE
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
I loved making these impressive meringue mushrooms! They were really easy and so cute when put together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States