Meringue Mushrooms Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
These are wonderfully fun. My DH hates mushrooms but just loves these. I made a batch for work tomorrow and am excited to hear the comments. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
These were amazing! As other reviewers have said this is foolproof - I was missing an attatchment for my piping bag so ended up snipping a hole in a freezer bag to pipe my mushrooms. Despite the meringues looking VERY rustic prior to assembling the final result was totally realistic! I rolled the mushrooms in cocoa rather than dusting and just blew off the excess. My brother in law wouldnt touch them at first stating ' I hate mushrooms'. Took a few minutes of convincing before he examined them enough to realise they were meringue. Used them to border my 3-year olds birthday cake, went down a treat. I subbed the same amount of white vinegar for the cream of tartar as had none in my cupboard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
So much fun to make! My 12 year old daughter had so much fun with this recipe! They really turned out looking like real mushrooms. Friends and family were amazed they were edible and that my daughter did most of the work!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Ohio, USA
Living In: Loudonville, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2010
It's going to take some practice to get the shapes right, but then again, I've never really worked with meringue, or a piping bag. I loved them, they were too sweet, borderline on burning the back of my throat. I'm going to cut back the sugar by 1/2 C next time. The second time I made them I tried mixing the cocoa powder in the meringue instead of dusting, it's definitely *not* recommended. All in all, awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Newmarket, Suffolk, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kelly13jane
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2010
I did a slightly different version, dying half of the meringue with food coloring, then I hollowed out the caps a bit like another person suggested and used white chocolate to "glue" the stems in place and make white dots. So mine were more Mario Bros style of mushrooms. Great decorations for cupcakes if you make them mini-sized!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelly13jane
Home Town: Wilton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Madison, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
I made these for Easter and everyone raved about them. My intention was to substitute almond extract for the vanilla, but in my haste I grabbed the peppermint. Thankfully I only put in 1/2 teaspoon. It was a happy accident. It complimented the chocolate nicely. I did flub these a little, and they still turned out relatively well. I waited to add the tartar, salt, and extract until I the eggwhites where already making soft peaks. I think this affected the stiffness/ ability of the meringue to hold it's shape well. I also was a little concerned that when I took these out of the oven, the inside was still soft. However, after letting them sit and cool on the cookie sheet they hardened and turned out to be just right. Thanks for a great recipe, I will be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ashleybrooks
Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
I made these for my neighborhood's Christmas cookie swap. They turned out so great, even though I made them on a rainy day! I will definitely be making them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2010
super cute
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
I made these and took them to a party in a wicker basket. People thought they were real mushrooms. They were a huge hit! They were easy to make and will become a regular party food for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States