Meringue Kisses I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2011
This was my first time making meringue cookies and I wasn't sure if it was going to be a hit or a miss. I didn't have cream of tartar or chocolate chips. I made the recipe without those ingredients, but added a teaspoon of honey when it said to add chocolate chips. Baked like the others who reviewed it did (200 for 30 min instead of leaving them in the oven overnight) and they turned out perfect! Made about 18-20 instead of just 12 and they were pretty good sized. Light and fluffy with a marshmallow like inside. UPDATE: They are just as good later and they store very well. They do stick to your teeth though, only down side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ArmyWife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
Awesome !! Light and chewy inside.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mykasba
Home Town: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 8, 2011
Easy and good recipe. Although, I got 35 meringues out of this recipe instead of just 12. Maybe I made them smaller, but I did them in "heaping tablespoons" and if I made them so there were only 12, they would have been huge! I've never had meringues that were larger than bite size. Either way, this recipe worked out great. I used dried "just whites" egg whites because I didn't have real eggs. Turned out wonderfully and this was my first time making meringues. I also put them in the oven for 30 minutes after turning off the 375 and then turned the heat to 200 for 30 minutes as another reviewer suggested to make it go faster.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by T Roos

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2011
Really good easy recipe to use! It may work even better with superfine sugar!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2011
i had to make small ones coz when i make 'em big, the middle get all sticky .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2010
I use this basic recipe ( had it for years ) but there are a couple of variations i love. instead of chocolate chips, i use m & m's ... OR another variation is to use a touch of cinnamon in the batter & add pecans
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhonda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
These are easy and tasty! I made a double batch the first time and it filled 4 cookie sheets and a pizza pan! I used half vanilla and half almond extract, crushed the chocolate chips and cooked them in the turned off 350 oven for 30 mins, then at 200 for 45 mins - they turned out crunchy all the way thru. Next time I will cook them as directed because I'd prefer them a little chewy in the middle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Easy Recipe Lover

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2010
I followed the recipe perfectly but these came out of the oven looking very much like when they went in. They were white and shiny with a very chewy texture and I didn't care for the taste. I put them back in the oven at 350F for 15-20 minutes and they came out much better - dry and crisp on the outside with a little bit of a chewy center. I liked them much better that way. Also, I used grated chocolate instead of chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Holt, Michigan, USA
Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2010
I made these for Passover. Instead of using white sugar I used baker's sugar. It really gave a professionall looking meringue. I also didn't use chocolate chips 'cause I didn't have any ones that were kosher for Passover. The kisses came out beautiful. The only problem was that most of them didn't make it to the dessert part of the dinner. Most were eaten before the meal even started!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by My4boys
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2010
Really good! thanks Pat K.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by My4boys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Augusta, Georgia, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Robbi’s M&M Cookies

This old-fashioned favorite is crispy and chewy with a candy-coated surprise.

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States