Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
Holds its shape and volume beautifully. No weeping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2014
I have made this several times and it is perfect. I believe the instruction should say to cook the cornstarch mixture until it boils and not until clear. You make this mixture the same way you make cooked pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2014
LOVE, LOVE, LOVE this recipe!!!! Every time I wanted to make a pie with meringue to take somewhere I was in search of the "perfect" meringue recipe. It never failed that the meringue would weep, even though it looked gorgeous... I just made two lemon pies in a matter of days...the first one looked pretty and tasted okay but the crust got soggy from the weeping meringue. Then I came across this recipe and decided to give it a try. I will use this recipe from now on! I made the meringue exactly according to the recipe and it couldn't be more perfect...looked beautiful, tasted great, and best of all, IT DIDN'T WEEP!!!! I was amazed. I could hardly wait to get up this morning to peek in the refrigerator to see if it had totally deflated and wept during the night. I was elated to find not one drop of moisture, the meringue is still thicker than the pie filling, and another added bonus is the meringue doesn't feel rubbery like a lot of meringues. I am completely satisfied with this recipe and will make cream pies with meringue with a new-found confidence!!! This is definitely a winner!! Thanks for the wonderful recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2014
It tasted great and went together in a snap, but mine did weep a little once I refrigerated the leftovers. It also was a bit "softer" than I would have wanted. I suppose I would have preferred "spongier." I will still use it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ChillyBaker
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2014
Strong, delish, not wilty or weepy!! Thank you, this one is a keeper! Didn't change anything! My family is not meringue fans whatsoever, but they were all fighting over the beater!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChillyBaker

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2014
Only meringue my hubby has ever liked! I think it may be sweeter, and the vanilla is nice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
This is the absolute best meringue. Taste is awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by eannie
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2013
It does not weep! Fabulous! Very easy to prepare. I added one extra egg while as my eggs were a little small. Baked it at 350 for 12 minutes. I put it on top of a chocolate creme pie. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Awesome-fool proof meringue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
I normally don't write reviews, but this one was worth it. I thought that weeping meringue was just something I would always have to deal with. I even remember my grandmother and the other older ladies at my church (best cooks I've ever known) lamenting over their weeping meringue during potlucks. If only they were still here for me to share this recipe with. I really didn't believe it was possible, but it doesn't weep, tastes great and holds up well. The only change I might make next time is to double everything. I'm used to really high meringue and this wasn't quite enough and looked a little flat (just a personal preference, it still looked pretty though). Thanks again for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pocahontas, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States