Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Here are some things to know about meringue that will help you if you are unclear about some of the directions in this recipe. 1) Make sure you have completely seperated the yolk from the white... the slightest bit of yolk will break down you whites. 2) Make you your mixing bowl is 100% GREASE FREE!!! Very important! 3) Keep your eggwhites at ROOM TEMP before you beat. 4) Begin beating the egg whites slowly, increasing speed when they are frothy and beating until soft peaks just begin to form. Continue beating, slowly adding the sugar and then the cornstarch mixture. Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, this takes a little time. Egg whites are "STIFF" when the beaters leave ridges in the whites and they are glossy and hold a stiff peak when the beaters are lifted out. 5) It is VERY important to beat your eggwhites completely and not stop until you are ready to put on the pie. Meringue starts to deflate within 5 minutes of turning off the mixer. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Photo by Lamborghini Gal
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2007
If you try nothing else, you HAVE to try this recipe! One word: Awesome! For others, like myself, who are "dummies" at meringue making, I want to point out a few things about this recipe. First of all, it is super easy to make! The cornstarch mixutre (preparation), can be tricky! My mixture never did turn clear. I followed the directions to a T. After about 10 minutes, I gave up, and simply removed it from the heat, as directed. I did cook it on low, and although it never did get clear, it worked, beautifully! I would suggest this: Cook it on low, as directed, and if it never does go clear, remove it from the heat, after about 5 minutes. The recipe did not state what speed to put the beater on. I would suggest hi. As far as how long to actually beat the egg white mixture, that is tricky, too. NOT being familiar with meringue, I beat it on hi for ten minutes! It said to beat, until "stiff." One persons definition of stiff, may not be the same as someone elses! So, with that said, I would recommend beating it, maybe, 5 or 6 minutes. This made a delectible meringue! It was super easy to fix, and more than covered my pie! It peaked, beautifully, just as it should, and I took a picture of it!! I put it in the oven on 350 for 17 minutes, exactly! Meringue II, as the recipe is called, just doesn't get it! This recipe deserves a much better name, and an award! Try it, you'll love it! lamborghinigal@bellsouth.net
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
145 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lamborghini Gal

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2002
At last a meringue that does not weep!! I have tried so many different meringues that weren't supposed to weep and of course they always did. Tried using the extra fine sugar and it helped but did not prevent the weeping.This one truly does not weep and tastes excellent. Thank you for posting this Saundra. This is the one I will continue to use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
This was the best meringue recipe ever. My mom was AMAZED by it!!! I messed up the first time I made it by not letting the corn starch thicken enough.... but my fault completely and the next 3 times I made it it came out perfect and delicious. The "extra step" is more than worth it...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maryann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Santa Rosa, California, USA
Living In: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2007
This was my first try at meringue, and I researched carefully before trying this recipe. My husband had told me he didn't like meringue -- after eating my lemon meringue pie (made with Lemon Meringue Pie III from this website) he asked for another piece and said he must not have ever had good meringue! My mother and mother-in-law were amazed that I had made a meringue with such a perfect consistency and that didn't weep! Use this recipe, you won't regret it. Also refer to the "Perfect Meringue" article you can find on allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2004
this is the best recipe ever. I have always had trouble with my meringues forever which prevented me from making cream pies. but now i can make them with confidence. thank you . it takes a little extra step but it was worth it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Princess Mandy
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2007
This was truly the PERFECT meringue recipe. I followed the recipe exactly, and couldn't have been happier. No weeping, it held up beautifully over the weekend in the fridge, and the taste/texture was superb! This will be the only meringue recipe I will use from now on.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Vandenberg Afb, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2007
PERFECT! Never made meringue before!! Had to make a Lemon Pie and found comments about this one and decided to try it. I made two pies - the last piece was still in the refrig. for 6 days - the meringue was still perfect - didn't move a inch - nor weap!!Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2006
OMGosh!! I am "merinqueingly" challenged to say the least! I thought this one sounded like a winner and boy-howdy was it ever! I cut back on the vanilla by 1/2 and may use a little less sugar next time but this one is printed and in my cookbook for ever now. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nov111805

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waterford, Michigan, USA
Living In: Port Huron, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 3Gs4Me
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
This is a beautiful meringue that went together easily and turned out pic (see my photo with this recipe to see how dreamy it is). I followed the recipe to a t and got rave reviews both times I have used it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3Gs4Me

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States