Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have Creme of Tartar so I substituted lemon juice and it still turned out OK for me. I made the cornstarch goo in the microwave. It doesn't get transparent, more like translucent. It is a very good idea. It made the meringue very stable. Even 20 minutes later the uncooked meringue that was left in the bowl was still puffed up. Thanks for the recipe. I will do this for all recipes requiring meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great recipe - the only thing it doesn't tell you is how long to put it in the oven. I followed another reviewer's advice on that - came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
great a little extra work but it was worth it. it DID NOT WEEP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Wow! I have a novice cook/baker and this turned out perfect for me!! I bought a new Kitchenaid mixer and was dying to use it, so I made a chocolate meringue pie. The meringue (of which I sometimes like) was AMAZING! The taste was that of a yummy marshmallow - not too sugary at all. This was VERY easy to make (esp. will my mixer). I used the comments of others and kept the mixer in the saucepan on low (constantly stirring) for 5 mins, as mine did not come out clear either. Also, I constantly beat on high in the mixer until foamy and continued beating as I added the saucepan mixer and slowly added the sugar too. AMAZING! Definately a keeper...my family was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Here are some things to know about meringue that will help you if you are unclear about some of the directions in this recipe. 1) Make sure you have completely seperated the yolk from the white... the slightest bit of yolk will break down you whites. 2) Make you your mixing bowl is 100% GREASE FREE!!! Very important! 3) Keep your eggwhites at ROOM TEMP before you beat. 4) Begin beating the egg whites slowly, increasing speed when they are frothy and beating until soft peaks just begin to form. Continue beating, slowly adding the sugar and then the cornstarch mixture. Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, this takes a little time. Egg whites are "STIFF" when the beaters leave ridges in the whites and they are glossy and hold a stiff peak when the beaters are lifted out. 5) It is VERY important to beat your eggwhites completely and not stop until you are ready to put on the pie. Meringue starts to deflate within 5 minutes of turning off the mixer. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
370 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wonderful, delicious and EASY recipe. My first time making meringue and it came out beautifully. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACascante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
What do you do when you don't have Cool Whip?? Make this EASY meringue! This turned out AWESOME as a "frosting" for Jenny's Black Forest Cake (on this site). We also added some food coloring to the meringue for our daughter's birthday. We set aside some of the meringue in a baggie, added different food coloring, cut the corner of the baggie and used it to "write" on top. Hope to add a picture asap to show how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNOUTLOUD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
You have no idea how long i've searched for the perfect and easy Meringue recipe and now I've found it!!!!! so easy, fluffy and absolutely delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimelu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I've never been a real fan of meringue until now. This was amazing. I'll never do it any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
WOW!!!!! Ditto all the glowing reviews. I will fear meringue no longer, because this one did not disappoint. Quality control at last :) My best tip is to BEAT very well. It should be unquestionably stiff; if you are not sure, keep beating, because this recipe is not as sensitive to overmixing as traditional meringue is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Displaying results 81-90 (of 138) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Meringue Bones and Ghosts

See how to make Halloween ghosts and graveyard bones out of meringue.

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States