Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Here are some things to know about meringue that will help you if you are unclear about some of the directions in this recipe. 1) Make sure you have completely seperated the yolk from the white... the slightest bit of yolk will break down you whites. 2) Make you your mixing bowl is 100% GREASE FREE!!! Very important! 3) Keep your eggwhites at ROOM TEMP before you beat. 4) Begin beating the egg whites slowly, increasing speed when they are frothy and beating until soft peaks just begin to form. Continue beating, slowly adding the sugar and then the cornstarch mixture. Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, this takes a little time. Egg whites are "STIFF" when the beaters leave ridges in the whites and they are glossy and hold a stiff peak when the beaters are lifted out. 5) It is VERY important to beat your eggwhites completely and not stop until you are ready to put on the pie. Meringue starts to deflate within 5 minutes of turning off the mixer. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
354 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
Wonderful, delicious and EASY recipe. My first time making meringue and it came out beautifully. Followed the recipe exactly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACascante

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2009
What do you do when you don't have Cool Whip?? Make this EASY meringue! This turned out AWESOME as a "frosting" for Jenny's Black Forest Cake (on this site). We also added some food coloring to the meringue for our daughter's birthday. We set aside some of the meringue in a baggie, added different food coloring, cut the corner of the baggie and used it to "write" on top. Hope to add a picture asap to show how it turned out!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SIGNOUTLOUD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
You have no idea how long i've searched for the perfect and easy Meringue recipe and now I've found it!!!!! so easy, fluffy and absolutely delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kimelu

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2009
I've never been a real fan of meringue until now. This was amazing. I'll never do it any other way again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Living In: Bellevue, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2009
WOW!!!!! Ditto all the glowing reviews. I will fear meringue no longer, because this one did not disappoint. Quality control at last :) My best tip is to BEAT very well. It should be unquestionably stiff; if you are not sure, keep beating, because this recipe is not as sensitive to overmixing as traditional meringue is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2009
This is an excellent meringue recipe. I will definitely use it for my next cream pie recipe. Stiff peaks and NO weeping. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Karr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2009
Perfect meringue for my coconut cream pies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BHLLAL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Three Springs, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This is AWESOME!! and my husband is questioning me for witchcraft after making it. I used it to top a chocolate meringue pie, I had some extra and made little drops of divinity. It tasted like toasted marshmallows. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess D.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milledgeville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Louisville, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
This was GREAT!! I hadn't made meringue for years and had a craving for coconut cream pie and this was just perfect on top and so easy to make! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kinsman, Ohio, USA
Living In: Reynoldsburg, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 134) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States