Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: May 31, 2010
Excellent and easy meringue. The taste is wonderful and it sets so beautiful... no running or weeping. I use it on all my pies as well as other desserts like my banana pudding
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jewels0315

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pearl, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Brandon, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2010
Pefect meringue!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsRPM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Duncan, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2010
4 stars and not 5 because i thought that the vanilla flavor was overwhelming (i followed the recipe exactly, next time i'll use half as much vanilla). it's true, this meringue did not weep, i did however get some beading on the top. the thing that perplexed me most was after the pie was cut the meringue didn't seem to want to stay on top of the lemon filling... it had the tendency to slide off. anyone have any ideas on why this might have happened? i followed directions for the filling and meringue to a tee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2010
Wow!!What a great Meringue!! I've been looking for a meringue that would not weep.And one that would really taste good.So this is a keeper!I had a huge Banana Pudding to make for a cookout and this Meringue was such a hit.I piled it on the pudding thick and it held up so good on a hot day too.I made so much I had to 4 times the ingredients.It came out wonderful!And don"t worry if it don't cook clear it still works.I cooked mine for about 20 minutes or so until it thickened somewhat.I also put 3 tablespoons of sugar instead of the two called for.This ones a WINNER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
This was my first attempt at meringue, and after following the recipe EXACTLY, it turned out perfectly! I almost gave up, because after beating for what felt like an etermity, my mixture wasn't getting "stiff"...give it time, and it will! Thanks for the great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I didn't have Creme of Tartar so I substituted lemon juice and it still turned out OK for me. I made the cornstarch goo in the microwave. It doesn't get transparent, more like translucent. It is a very good idea. It made the meringue very stable. Even 20 minutes later the uncooked meringue that was left in the bowl was still puffed up. Thanks for the recipe. I will do this for all recipes requiring meringue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ? allyson ?

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SarahMc
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2010
Great recipe - the only thing it doesn't tell you is how long to put it in the oven. I followed another reviewer's advice on that - came out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahMc

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Teutopolis, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edwardsville, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2010
great a little extra work but it was worth it. it DID NOT WEEP!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
Wow! I have a novice cook/baker and this turned out perfect for me!! I bought a new Kitchenaid mixer and was dying to use it, so I made a chocolate meringue pie. The meringue (of which I sometimes like) was AMAZING! The taste was that of a yummy marshmallow - not too sugary at all. This was VERY easy to make (esp. will my mixer). I used the comments of others and kept the mixer in the saucepan on low (constantly stirring) for 5 mins, as mine did not come out clear either. Also, I constantly beat on high in the mixer until foamy and continued beating as I added the saucepan mixer and slowly added the sugar too. AMAZING! Definately a keeper...my family was very impressed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Here are some things to know about meringue that will help you if you are unclear about some of the directions in this recipe. 1) Make sure you have completely seperated the yolk from the white... the slightest bit of yolk will break down you whites. 2) Make you your mixing bowl is 100% GREASE FREE!!! Very important! 3) Keep your eggwhites at ROOM TEMP before you beat. 4) Begin beating the egg whites slowly, increasing speed when they are frothy and beating until soft peaks just begin to form. Continue beating, slowly adding the sugar and then the cornstarch mixture. Beat the egg whites until stiff peaks form, this takes a little time. Egg whites are "STIFF" when the beaters leave ridges in the whites and they are glossy and hold a stiff peak when the beaters are lifted out. 5) It is VERY important to beat your eggwhites completely and not stop until you are ready to put on the pie. Meringue starts to deflate within 5 minutes of turning off the mixer. Hope this helps!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
355 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Oxnard, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States