Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2013
I never will use another meringue recipe again. I have tried several other concoctions and this is by far the best no matter what dish it is paired with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
Very good. I used it on the top of my key lime pie and it sealed the deal. The sweetness of the meringue balanced the sourness of the pie. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Everything Dessert

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2013
In the past when I said I hated meringue on my lemon pie, I absolutely meant it. I had always found it too goopy and spongy. Today, because of this recipe, that sentiment has changed. I can now say I LOVE it. This recipe is fantastic and is now my go to recipe for meringue. This does not weep and is velvety in texture. I followed the rcipe to the letter however one thing I must note - The recipe does state to cook the cornstarch mixture on the stove until clear, mine never went clear I think it would be better to say translucent....I cooked it for approximately 5 minutes and it had the consistency of lemon curd. Try it, you won't be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2013
The meringue set wonderfully! It didn't shrink to nothingness! This is a very nice recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carlisle, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
The meringue did hold up better with this recipe... and did not weep. But to me, it kind of had the consistency more of a marshmallow cream, which I didn't care for. Think I'll go back to just adding the cream of tartar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHERYLBH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2013
I finally have made a really beautiful lemon meringue pie - thank you for this wonder ful recipe, BTW, I did my cornstarch and sugar mixture in the microwave.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PieKid

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Delta, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: May 6, 2013
While this was a bit more tedious in preparing, it was well worth the extra effort. I got in a hurry and was trying to make the constarch mixture while whipping the egg whites and I'd recommend making the cornstarch mixture THEN working on the egg whites. A more harmonious outcome! :) Meringue is beautiful...My girl's clapped as I was removing it from the oven and it didn't shrink. Beautiful, high, fluffy meringue...FINALLY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I just made this with "Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie" from this site. Holy cow! Not only was it perfect for lemon meringue pie but bonus, it is a pretty forgiving recipe. It was huge to start with and after cooling a few hours did sink a little. HOWEVER, flavor was awesome and still had the volume that any lemon meringue pie should have. Excellent. Will make this recipe every time! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
Wonderful recipe! Worked even without the cream of tartar and -more surprisingly- without an electric mixer. That's right, with just a metal bowl and a whisk (and lots of elbow grease, of course)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2013
The recipe is wonderful!!! I used it for a banana pudding that I made (my recipe called for a different meringue technique but it kept 'weeping' on me). Even with me making errors during the process... I.e., over-cooking the cornstarch mixture, and spilling part of my room-temperature eggs on the floor ( so I had part warm/ part cold eggs), it worked like a charm... It still turned out DELISH!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

How to Make Fondant

Give your cakes a sleek, professional look with fondant.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States