Meringue II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2009
meringue has always given me fits until now. this one is a bit more work than most meringue recipes but worth it. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SilverNBlack
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2008
My first time making a meringue, and it turned out beautifully. I used it for Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie (recipe on this site), and it's perfect. I made the pie this evening, and we're already starting to eat it...if there's any left, I'll check in the morning to see if there's any weeping. The meringue layer separated from my pie, but I think that's because the filling had cooled by the time I got the meringue made...apparently, it's best to put on the meringue when the filling is still hot. Doesn't take away from the presentation or flavor however, and that was my mistake, so this recipe still gets 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SilverNBlack

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2008
No beading up! Turned out nice and toasty brown! I only had one problem...the Meringue pulled away from the crust, even though I sealed the edges well. I will definitely be using this recipe again. Hopefully this won't happen next time. I got many compliments on the taste. Thank!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2008
Excellente meringue, works every time! If you place the meringue on top of a cake, make sure to let it cool in the refrigerator for a while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
This is the first meringue recipe I have used that really looked good and tasted better than it looked. I used four egg whites and the recipe made enough meringue to cover two chocolate pies. My eight year old granddaughter loves this, too. LPogue
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2008
I dunno what I did wrong!! I followed the directions exactly. The pie looked so pretty when I put the meringue on and browned it, but by the next day, the meringue shrank and was full of beads. I thought this recipe was supposed to prevent that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2008
so i had 4 pies to make in a little under 3 hours. i thought i messed up the meringue when i added the cornstarch directly to the egg whites while they were beating. as it turns out, they held out fine and i had the most beautiful meringue! used with grandma's lemon meringue pie! it was awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2008
Super yummy and foolproof for a beginner. I had a little bit of weeping when I refrigerated it, and a few more beads on the second day, but nothing major. I used this with Grandma's Lemon Meringue Pie from this site, and tossed in the extra white. Was more than enough filling to cover a 9" pie. Thanks a lot for the awesome recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KieshaMessina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ardmore, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
A little bit more work than standard meringue, but almost impossible to over beat or ruin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
This Meringue makes the most beautiful pie. I wanted to impress my mother-in-law to be with her favorite Coconut Cream Pie and this meringue made it look like something out of a magazine. And it was delicious too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anjie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Troy, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 133) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

How to Make Buttercream Frosting

This delicious, creamy frosting makes any cake grand.

Raspberry Chocolate Tassies

See how to make tasty pastry cups filled with chocolate and raspberry jam.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States