Meringue I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2011
OMFG! they taste like burnt fried eggs coated with corn syrup, and they look like dried up grandma fingers! I threw up...LEGIT!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2011
I made this recipe tonight and everything looked fine till i took it out.At first they looked firmed but once i took them out they went flat and they tasted eggy.Can you please tell me what i did wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2011
This was an absolutely MISERABLE experience for me :( Like another review, my syrup/gel made horrible horrible little beads in the "meringue". I never could get those out. Didn't get "Peaks" either! Will NOT use this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Yaira

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jackson, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Braxton, Mississippi, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2011
Good, basic meringue. It's not the end of the world if your cornstarch/water/sugar mix becomes to thick too fast. I just added a little bit of water after cooling and whisked it smooth into a syrup, then beat it in. Definitely bake it thru or it will taste eggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2011
Great meringue recipe! I thought it sounded kind of weird but tried anyway. Will never use another!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lotus Bloosom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Angola, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
best meringue ever! only recipe I use now. the cornstarch mixture does not need to cool, in fact it's easier to pour into egg white mixture while it is still warm and it incorporates better. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
I will not even rate this recipe because it is a disaster. I tried it 3 times but could not get it to work. The cooking until clear never happens and when cooked that long, there is no way it will pour out. I tried until it was just thick and whipped it on high for 15 minutes and it never fully fluffed up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Hardinsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2010
This meringue turned out perfect. It's super easy. I was skeptical at first at how easy it sounded but it was super yummy! Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
This was my first attempt ever at a meringue. I was under the impression that meringue only consisted of egg whites and sugar. I've also heard that based on only those ingredients, most of the time, your meringue will fall flat. I was excited to find a recipe that had a thickening agent such as cornstarch, but at the same time concerned there might be a starchy or pasty taste. The finished result was great; stood firm and very tasty. Twelve minutes at 450 seemed a little too long; mine was golden brown at 8 min. I think it's my oven, though; I think it gets hotter than the digital read says it is. Overall I'm very impressed with the results of my first meringue; thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cnash81

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2009
I too had the problem with my syrup being too thick to pour and consequently had the small almost tapioca like lumps. Any suggestsions as to what I'm doing wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Baked Apple Chips

Watch how to make a sweet, crispy treat that tastes like apple pie.

Cajun Spice Mix

See how to make a mildly hot Cajun spice mix…for just about anything!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States