Meringue Crust Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
A tip where you need not use a cooking spray. Place a large dollop of the prepared egg white meringue onto a cookie sheet lined with a flattened out sheet of a large brown paper bag like the kind from the grocery store. Using the bottom of a soup spoon to form a cavity in the center of the dollop, you can then bake as prescribed. My mom used to call these "Meringue Shells" and filled them just before being served with a scoop of vanilla ice cream topped with semi sweetened fresh raspberries. The shells will release fairly easy from the brown paper after cooking and drying out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Deland, Florida, USA
Living In: Todd, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
made this with a lemon cream filling. So much easier than making a 'regular' pie crust Rave reviews. Friends asked for recipe. will DEFINITELY make again. Need to serve right away, however, left overnight and the crust got the tiniest bit soggy, but still fabu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ekalaka, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2012
I used this to make individual meringue shells for Raspberry Schaum Torte. Baked them at 275 degees for 45 minutes. Because I made these ahead of time, it gave the shells plenty of time to dry out and once it was time for dessert it was a snap to assemble and serve.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
I loved the texture of this crust. A little cruchy, a little chewy. However, USE NON-STICK SPRAY. This does not come out of the pan easily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweetserenade
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2012
I wanted to make meringues nests for a lite dessert and this fit the need.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweetserenade
Living In: Portland, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Pefect for my key lime pie recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
Great recipe and very easy if you use the merinque powder!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2010
This recipe filled 16 tart shells. I baked at 275°F for 45 minutes, then left in the oven for 1 hour. I filled with an almond/cherry custard 1 hour before serving, and the meringue was already getting soft and sticky. By the time 2 hours had passed, all the tarts had to be eaten with a spoon. Awesome recipe but I will fill the shell(s) just before serving next time. Spray a generous amount of cooking spray. With just a split second spray, some of the meringue still wanted to stick to the tart shells. Luckily,I thought to pop the meringue out of the shells before serving (then reinsert) so guests wouldn't have to battle with the tarts. Several people went home with the recipe. Thanks for sharing! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2009
This crust is especially nice with a lemon chiffon filling. I knew it as Lemon Angel Pie when I worked at the Bomber in Milwaukie, OR. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Camas Mom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA
Living In: Camas, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2009
Turned out great! I didn't bake it for quite as long as the recipe called for (I was worried it was too long) but the crust ended up coming out slightly underdone. So- bake it for the full time! I'm filling it with the pastry cream from this site and plan to top it with strawberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 17) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Fix Burnt Pie Crust

Burnt pie crust? No problem. With these ingenious tricks, it’s an easy fix.

How to Make Pie Crust

Watch how to make a flaky homemade pie crust in seven easy steps.

Best Ever Pie Crust

Watch how to make this easy, can’t-fail pie crust recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States