Merenges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Casandra Yaz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
When I saw Puertorican in the recipe I had to try it. I was not disappointed at all. These are exactly the same I use to eat at the bakery back home. They melt in your mouth. My only suggestion is that I left them in the oven with the oven off, until they cooled down. It helps in them to get completely dry before removing from oven. Thanks so much! :
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2007
Wonderful! I've made this recipe twice now, once with orange zest and once with lime zest and it was delicious each time. Crunchy on the outside, soft in the middle - perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
48 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2005
I loved the hint of lemon in the recipe- it was like eating a piece of lemon meringuep pie! I think next time I makes these I'll divide the batch into 3s and put lemon zest in one, lime zest in the another, and orange zest in the third for a nice, light variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I didn't have parchment paper on hand so instead i greased a pan and placed it on the top rack. Also i didn't have any lemon zest on hand as well so i added vanilla extract and mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
Wow!! These are just like the merenges from the Cuban bakery that I love. The only thing I changed was to add vanilla rather than the lemon zest. MMMmmmm. crispy on the outside, soft and chewy on the inside. Perfect!!! I will make these every time I have extra egg whites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by catie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2009
Truly authentic merenges. (crisp outer/moist center..the way they should be) I haven't tasted Merenges this good since I bought them years ago at a fancy bakery. 275degrees, for 30 min., was perfect!! I did use the parchement and they practically slid right off when done. I too substituted vanilla extract for the lemon zest. I will be making these often!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
They were a little too sweet for me. I wish I would have put in 1/2 or 2/3 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
I added lemon extract with the zest. They melt in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Photo by Heidi
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2009
Stars completely for the taste and being forgiving. Mmmm. They're like lemon flavored bites of air. The first time I made these I didn't whip the egg whites long enough. For other newbs to meringue, it should kinda be shiny and ribbony, a little bit like marshmellow fluff. The second time they came out much better. It is a forgiving recipe all in all even if you mess up the whipping like I did.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Living In: Lima, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2006
These were awesome!!! They were exactly the kind of merenges I wanted -- crumbly outside, soft, chewy inside. The only thing I changed was adding more of the lemon zest. Also, I made about 25 big merenges instead of 50 small ones. Thanks a lot!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States