Merenges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2008
I got a new KitchenAid Stand Mixer for Christmas. I've always wanted to make meringues, but I've never succeeded. This recipe along with my new mixer absolutely rocked! I chose to use vanilla rather than the lemon and the meringues taste amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2008
I like the sheen of these cookies, and the lime zest was delicious. It cut the sweet some. 275 degrees F for 35 minutes was much too high of a temperature and time for these cookies. I piped mine into snowflakes (using a plastic baggie with the corner cut off) and it looked like dirty snow after just 15 minutes. :-( Try 200 F for 20 minutes, turn off the oven, and leave the door shut until they cool. Also try sprinkling with sugar or colored sprinkles before baking - it gives off a festive sparkle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RebeccaJBlock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
I made these cookies recently, and they not only turn out beautifully, but everyone loved them! The only change I made was to substitute vanilla for the lemon zest. I piped these cookies into wreath shapes and used sprinkles to decorate them. Thanks for a yummy recipe; I will make them again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
I really loved and so did my family. They fell a little when I cooled them in the freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by hefziba
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
I've been trying merengues and finally got them right, this recipe is excellent...the texture in the mixture wow...I used also for a lime orange pie..thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hefziba

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
First time Ive made meringues. They turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
we've made these forever, and an elderly relative has dubbed them 'angel farts' :)makes me smile every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salado, Texas, USA
Living In: San Angelo, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I didn't have parchment paper on hand so instead i greased a pan and placed it on the top rack. Also i didn't have any lemon zest on hand as well so i added vanilla extract and mini chocolate chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I read through all the hints, tips, techniques and EVERYTHING when it comes to meringue. And everything was going along well, the meringue was glossy and stiff, baked up nice and high, but within minutes after taking it out, fell down spectacularly into hard disks of sugar. No puff at all. Not to sound overly dramatic or anything, but I honestly felt like my heart broke. Everything was going so well, as opposed to the last time when I tried meringue for a Lemon Meringue Pie and that time the meringue didn't even come close to beating up stiff but instead kind of just was liquid like water.If I had to guess what went wrong, I think maybe I took too much time forming the cookies with a nozzle and so it deflated. Or maybe I overbeat it and so then it deflated. Nonetheless, I would have really appreciated it if the recipe had mentioned at least an approximate time for how long the meringue should be beat and mentioned how important it was to form the meringue extremely quickly just for novices like me, who don't know any better. Additionally, in order for it to have any flavor besides sugar at least 1- 2 TB of zest is necessary. If you like it to be tart, go with 2. The recipe should have also mentioned how to make it easier to remove the meringue from the parchment paper, it completely just stuck on. Arrgh...I wanted to make a good meringue SO badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I love lemon and these were great little meringue cookies. I used a silpat mat instead of parchment paper which after the first batch I realized they need to stay in there a little bit longer so that the insides get nice and cooked through. I used more lemon peel than called for and added in some juice of the lemon I grated. Scooping them is tricky if you don't really know what to do (which was me) but I had the hang of it by the end. Looking forward to making another batch soon. thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Antonio

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States