Merenges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 24, 2008
I read through all the hints, tips, techniques and EVERYTHING when it comes to meringue. And everything was going along well, the meringue was glossy and stiff, baked up nice and high, but within minutes after taking it out, fell down spectacularly into hard disks of sugar. No puff at all. Not to sound overly dramatic or anything, but I honestly felt like my heart broke. Everything was going so well, as opposed to the last time when I tried meringue for a Lemon Meringue Pie and that time the meringue didn't even come close to beating up stiff but instead kind of just was liquid like water.If I had to guess what went wrong, I think maybe I took too much time forming the cookies with a nozzle and so it deflated. Or maybe I overbeat it and so then it deflated. Nonetheless, I would have really appreciated it if the recipe had mentioned at least an approximate time for how long the meringue should be beat and mentioned how important it was to form the meringue extremely quickly just for novices like me, who don't know any better. Additionally, in order for it to have any flavor besides sugar at least 1- 2 TB of zest is necessary. If you like it to be tart, go with 2. The recipe should have also mentioned how to make it easier to remove the meringue from the parchment paper, it completely just stuck on. Arrgh...I wanted to make a good meringue SO badly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
I love lemon and these were great little meringue cookies. I used a silpat mat instead of parchment paper which after the first batch I realized they need to stay in there a little bit longer so that the insides get nice and cooked through. I used more lemon peel than called for and added in some juice of the lemon I grated. Scooping them is tricky if you don't really know what to do (which was me) but I had the hang of it by the end. Looking forward to making another batch soon. thanks for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by StaceyRae13

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 4, 2008
They were a little too sweet for me. I wish I would have put in 1/2 or 2/3 the sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2008
These are awesome. I used almond extract instead of lemon, but that just kind of goes with my inability to actually follow a recipe as written. :) Hah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
Really great, but a huge sugar rush. The lemon was perfect. My Spanish class loved them and they were easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2008
I thought they were great! I used splenda for a lo cal treat. Will cook a little longer so middles are dry. Also may add a bit more lemon zest
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kaspmary
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
Wonderful! I had leftover egg whites from a recipe that only called for yolks so I decided to try these cookies. I never made meringues before, but these came out delicious! Instead of the lemon zest I subsituted a teaspoon of vanilla extract and they ended up tasting like marshmallows! Crispy on the outside, chewy on the inside. Yummy -- and beautiful too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kaspmary

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Casandra Yaz
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2008
When I saw Puertorican in the recipe I had to try it. I was not disappointed at all. These are exactly the same I use to eat at the bakery back home. They melt in your mouth. My only suggestion is that I left them in the oven with the oven off, until they cooled down. It helps in them to get completely dry before removing from oven. Thanks so much! :
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
62 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Casandra Yaz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Katy, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
I'm still pretty new at baking, but wanted to make my mom her favorite cookie as a special treat. And they came out great! The directions were easy to follow and the only bad thing that happened was that I dropped the baking sheet with the cookies still on it, but that's not the recipe's fault haha. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2007
These are great!! I made real small ones and put lemon curd in the middle of two, sandwiched them together.Fabulous snack. Will for sure make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States