Merenges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2012
My step daughter needed a Latin recipe to take into her Spanish class for extra credit so I found these. I made a batch 2 nights ago to try them out and they turned out PERFECT!!! They were so yummy!! I am making a second batch right now for her to actually take to school for their Xmas party tomorrow. So far they are cooking up great, will try to post a picture of them when they're done. We halved the batch and added red and green food coloring for a holiday touch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvKookin

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Huntsville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
These are absolutely perfect and so easy!! Merenges always scared me because they are so easy to mess up, but these work perfectly everytime. The second time I made them I put it in a piping bag and I liked the results even better. Not only did they look pretty, but the ridges seemed to make them taste even lighter and airier. Probably my imagination, but I will continue to make them this way because they look so nice. :) Definitely try this recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2012
Amazing recipe! This is my first time making merengue and it was so easy. The first time I tried the recipe i dropped a little yolk in the mix and so I couldn't get the "peaks", but it still tasted delish. The second time I was more careful and it was fast and perfect! Instead of lemon I added a 1/2 tsp vanilla and it was great. I also used a greased cookie sheet and it worked fine. The only problem with this recipe is that I end up eating half of it uncooked it's so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2012
Really good! Didn't have lemon zest so used vanilla extract instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2012
I haven't made this yet but I know how good it is because it's the exact same recipe as my ewish Mom's except for one thing. She added chopped walnuts. They're addictive. You just can't stop eating them, with or without the walnuts. I guess this recipe has made it around the world. I won't speculate about who had it first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
I discovered this recipe about a month ago, and these are always in demand! I make them with my stand mixer and whip them until they're super-stiff, then put them through a cookie press to make them cute. For other variations on flavor, you can omit the lemon zest and substitute part of the sugar with one 3 oz packet of Jello mix. It adds a fun pop of color and flavor, but my friends and husband like these just as much plain.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2011
Love these!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2011
These are wonderful! My husband and I couldn't get enough of them. I used lime zest because I didn't have a fresh lemon. This is a keeper. Thanks for the easy, light recipe! Great as a summer dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurita

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2011
Had to cook it more then stated time, and still wasn't completely done. And the flavor seams a little odd
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meadow Brady

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Alma, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2011
super easy and way delicous!!!!!!!! : )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 108) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lemon Bar Peeps®

A sweet and tart Easter treat.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States