Merenges Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I added fresh squeezed lemon juice, and lemon extract and 1/2 cup more sugar to compensate for the extra liquid. It turned out flaky and grainy. I added 1/2-2/3 cup of powdered sugar and it turned out perfect! Even without the lemon juice and lemon extract I would suggest using part granulated sugar and part powdered sugar. All powdered sugar gives it a strange taste and all granulated sugar it turns out grainy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2014
These are absolutely wonderful and make the perfect spring time treat. I substituted Splenda for sugar and they came out wonderfully
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Ok recipe. Instead of lemon zest, I used vanilla extract because I didn't have a lemon. I also omitted the cream of tartar because I didn't have that. I also reduced the amount of sugar to 1 cup and they are still very sweet. In the future I will reduce the sugar to 3\4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
These remind me of my mother's favorites so I wanted to make them for her for Christmas. I did not have cream of tarter and I recall her recipe had vinegar so I made them with vinegar. I cooked them until most pulled off the parchment paper (I do not trust my oven but think it was at about 225-250 and cooked the for 30 mn) and then turned off the oven to let them cool in the oven. They are wonderful and exactly as I remember them. Thanks for, what I trust will be, making an 87 year old woman happy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Eau Claire, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2013
great! important note: bake these right away (don't let half of the unbaked merenge sit in the bowl while some bake. get as many in the oven as possible. i waited to bake some and they flattened a lot on the baking sheet. much prettier if baked right away!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2013
This recipe was so easy to make! They turned out absolutely perfect and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Emilia
Reviewed: May 3, 2013
1st time making this recipe. They are delicious. They are light & melt in your mouth. They taste like the ones they sell in Puerto Rico's bakeries. I did not make any changes to the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2013
This recipe is amazing. I was a bit skeptical about it(having never made meringue-related foods before) but it turned out great. I substituted twice as much lime juice for the cream of tartar, and vanilla extract for lemon zest. Yum! Thanks you for this wonderful recipe Missy:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bothell, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2013
After 30 mins they got burnt. Charred bottoms. The mixture was delicious, used orange zest and a bit of orange juice, but there is no way you can bake these for 35 mins. Next time I'll leave them for 15 minutes tops.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2013
These are AWESOME! I followed the recipe but used vanilla since I didn't have lemons to zest. They remind me of my mom's back when I was little in PR. I also dyed them green for St.Patrick's Day. My kids are giving a few to their friends. GRACIAS UN MILLON!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 99) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Lemon Bars

Sweet, tart, and custardy, these easy bars are the lemon pie of cookies.

Blueberry Shortbread Bars

See how to make delicious fresh berry bars.

The Best Lemon Bars

See how to make tart and tasty lemon bars.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States