Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was great!!!! I followed the recipe to a T the only thing I can say is that it came out really spicy. The peppers I used were kinda big so next time I'm gona cut down on the peppers. I served some to my neighbors who are from Mexico and and they love it but they thought it was a little to spicy also. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This is an excellent Menudo recipe. I added two pork feet and some bone marrow in step no. 2, making a richer broth. Also, I bought whole tripe and washed it first in several exchanges of cold water, then rubbed in the juice of two whole limes and about two teaspoons of Kosher salt, washed it again and sliced. I did this only because this is how I learned to prepare the tripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
343 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
One of the best tasting menudo I've had. I followed this recipe to make menudo for the first time. Everyone loved it!! My husband doesn't like to eat leftovers but he ate this for three days straight. Most of our guest were impressed on how flavorful it was. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I will definately save this and make it again. It's takes a long time to prepare but since everyone loved it ---it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I sliced the honeycomb tripe in 1/4 x 1 inch slices after parboiling tripe in salted water for 2 hours. Used the slow cooker to pull it together. This is a keeper! Very dubious DH & friends were amazed at how unbelievably tasty. Served with fresh chopped onion, cilantro, mint & jalapeno peppers - most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I have made this a few times as the recipe reads (less some of the pepper) & now my family wants it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every other day. It seems I can never make enough because they devour it no matter how much I double even triple the recipe. I made an experimental batch for dinner tonight putting my own twist on it and suprisingly it turned out AWESOME!!! I added 2 lbs hog maws, 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium potatoes (cut into 4's), and 6 pig tails. I let it cook on the stove for two hours (minus the potatoes and bacon). I let it cook down and then added my second gallon of water letting it cook for an additional hour. I then transfered everything to the crock pot (adding potatoes and bacon) and let it slow cook for an additional 4 hours (didn't even need the third gallon of water). WOW....I know this goes against what menudo may be, but try it. You will be suprised how flavorful and meaty this turns out to be. I hit a home run with my family and neighbors making it this way. Happy eating....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very good. My husband cooked the tripe outdoors so we didn't get the smell in the house. This is truly a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Way hot , but i like hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I too added broth instead of water. Also, some cubed pork. This is the best menudo I have ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and I DID cook the tripe in the pressure cooker for 4o minutes. I cooked the pigs trotters in another pressure cooker for 15 minutes. Turned out beautifully and eliminated hours of cooking. I borrowed from another reviewer and rubbed the tripe with kosher salt and the juice of two limes and let it sit for a few hours. I rinsed it prior to cooking. I used dried California chili's that I soaked in hot water and scraped the flesh from the skins. They were absolutely devoid of heat. So I used 4 tablespoons of red pepper. I did not use the jalapenos. This dish turned out wonderfully well. It's time consuming - but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Love Menudo!!!!! I didnt need to skim fat off because I buy the Honeycomb Tripe that is trimmed already. I also dont drain the broth, I loved the extra taste of the peppers, this one rocks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaDar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States