Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I have made menudo for many years and, after reading the comments, have some 'hints' to offer. Yes, the tripe smells awful when cooking and one thing that helps a lot is adding 6-8 cloves of garlic and a lemon (cut in half and the juice squeezed in) in step one. The garlic cooks and doesn't add a strong garlic flavor. In step two, I would add broth in place of water and some cubed, sauted pork. This adds the hearty flavor that is missing when only tripe and water are used. I also use pureed New Mexico red chili, adjust to your taste. I hope you enjoy my tried and true 'hints'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
504 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This is an excellent Menudo recipe. I added two pork feet and some bone marrow in step no. 2, making a richer broth. Also, I bought whole tripe and washed it first in several exchanges of cold water, then rubbed in the juice of two whole limes and about two teaspoons of Kosher salt, washed it again and sliced. I did this only because this is how I learned to prepare the tripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
348 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
this is a delicious recipe, no question. however, there is no reason at all why it should take 8 hours. once i knew the tripe was clean and tender (about 2 hours preparation), the soup was done in another two hours. the chiles used in this recipe are produce a spicy flavor, and i used one less arbol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
216 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
For those who do not like the smell of menudo . I soak it in 1/4 cup of distilled white vinegar and cold water soak for 3 hrs and rinse and continue cooking. Been cooking this for 33 yrs. this way no smells .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was great!!!! I followed the recipe to a T the only thing I can say is that it came out really spicy. The peppers I used were kinda big so next time I'm gona cut down on the peppers. I served some to my neighbors who are from Mexico and and they love it but they thought it was a little to spicy also. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
After reading the reviews, I was excited to try this new recipe. However, I was very disappointed with the results. It came out way too spicy, (& i love spicy food) so I had to drain some of the water and I blended up some dried Guajillo chiles I had on hand to give it some additional flavor and color since the color wasn't the true aunthentic version I'm familiar with. It was very watered down. My family enjoyed it, but my husband (who raves about my cooking) didn't care for it at all. He said he prefers and loves the way I originally make it because it's tastier and has a more richer and redder color to the juice. I use a combination of chile California, New Mexico and Guajillo in my own recipe. I think I'm gonna stick to my own version afterall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
57 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy022

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
One of the best tasting menudo I've had. I followed this recipe to make menudo for the first time. Everyone loved it!! My husband doesn't like to eat leftovers but he ate this for three days straight. Most of our guest were impressed on how flavorful it was. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I will definately save this and make it again. It's takes a long time to prepare but since everyone loved it ---it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
In case you don't already know, the tripe really stinks up the house when you cook it initially so a good idea to do that step outside far, far away. My wardrobe smells like tripe now. Very good recipe though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I sliced the honeycomb tripe in 1/4 x 1 inch slices after parboiling tripe in salted water for 2 hours. Used the slow cooker to pull it together. This is a keeper! Very dubious DH & friends were amazed at how unbelievably tasty. Served with fresh chopped onion, cilantro, mint & jalapeno peppers - most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I make menudo and the pigs feet were not in your recipe. The tripe that we use is the honeycomb cost a little more but is more tasty and tender. Also have the butcher cut the pigs feet two or three of them into 4 pieces. Pigs feet add to the flavor. I use the powder chili. California Chili cause the New Mexico is too hot spicy. Also add "menudo Mix" it has all the spices you need in it sold in the Mexican spice section to the menudo then you only need to add salt and the red chili powder all our relatives always ask me to make menudo when they are coming to visit....you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthieinL.A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States