Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
this was a very spicy soup but i loved it!i will defenitly make some more but next time i will add a little less chili but me and my family LOVED it it was great! thank you for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca100

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I too added broth instead of water. Also, some cubed pork. This is the best menudo I have ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Way hot , but i like hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very good. My husband cooked the tripe outdoors so we didn't get the smell in the house. This is truly a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I have made menudo for many years and, after reading the comments, have some 'hints' to offer. Yes, the tripe smells awful when cooking and one thing that helps a lot is adding 6-8 cloves of garlic and a lemon (cut in half and the juice squeezed in) in step one. The garlic cooks and doesn't add a strong garlic flavor. In step two, I would add broth in place of water and some cubed, sauted pork. This adds the hearty flavor that is missing when only tripe and water are used. I also use pureed New Mexico red chili, adjust to your taste. I hope you enjoy my tried and true 'hints'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
513 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I have made this a few times as the recipe reads (less some of the pepper) & now my family wants it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every other day. It seems I can never make enough because they devour it no matter how much I double even triple the recipe. I made an experimental batch for dinner tonight putting my own twist on it and suprisingly it turned out AWESOME!!! I added 2 lbs hog maws, 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium potatoes (cut into 4's), and 6 pig tails. I let it cook on the stove for two hours (minus the potatoes and bacon). I let it cook down and then added my second gallon of water letting it cook for an additional hour. I then transfered everything to the crock pot (adding potatoes and bacon) and let it slow cook for an additional 4 hours (didn't even need the third gallon of water). WOW....I know this goes against what menudo may be, but try it. You will be suprised how flavorful and meaty this turns out to be. I hit a home run with my family and neighbors making it this way. Happy eating....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I sliced the honeycomb tripe in 1/4 x 1 inch slices after parboiling tripe in salted water for 2 hours. Used the slow cooker to pull it together. This is a keeper! Very dubious DH & friends were amazed at how unbelievably tasty. Served with fresh chopped onion, cilantro, mint & jalapeno peppers - most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Such a great recipe!! Only thing I changed was the chile, I used New Mexico instead its not that spicy! Just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
this is a delicious recipe, no question. however, there is no reason at all why it should take 8 hours. once i knew the tripe was clean and tender (about 2 hours preparation), the soup was done in another two hours. the chiles used in this recipe are produce a spicy flavor, and i used one less arbol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
219 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
In case you don't already know, the tripe really stinks up the house when you cook it initially so a good idea to do that step outside far, far away. My wardrobe smells like tripe now. Very good recipe though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States