Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I too added broth instead of water. Also, some cubed pork. This is the best menudo I have ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Way hot , but i like hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very good. My husband cooked the tripe outdoors so we didn't get the smell in the house. This is truly a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I have made menudo for many years and, after reading the comments, have some 'hints' to offer. Yes, the tripe smells awful when cooking and one thing that helps a lot is adding 6-8 cloves of garlic and a lemon (cut in half and the juice squeezed in) in step one. The garlic cooks and doesn't add a strong garlic flavor. In step two, I would add broth in place of water and some cubed, sauted pork. This adds the hearty flavor that is missing when only tripe and water are used. I also use pureed New Mexico red chili, adjust to your taste. I hope you enjoy my tried and true 'hints'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
509 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I have made this a few times as the recipe reads (less some of the pepper) & now my family wants it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every other day. It seems I can never make enough because they devour it no matter how much I double even triple the recipe. I made an experimental batch for dinner tonight putting my own twist on it and suprisingly it turned out AWESOME!!! I added 2 lbs hog maws, 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium potatoes (cut into 4's), and 6 pig tails. I let it cook on the stove for two hours (minus the potatoes and bacon). I let it cook down and then added my second gallon of water letting it cook for an additional hour. I then transfered everything to the crock pot (adding potatoes and bacon) and let it slow cook for an additional 4 hours (didn't even need the third gallon of water). WOW....I know this goes against what menudo may be, but try it. You will be suprised how flavorful and meaty this turns out to be. I hit a home run with my family and neighbors making it this way. Happy eating....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I sliced the honeycomb tripe in 1/4 x 1 inch slices after parboiling tripe in salted water for 2 hours. Used the slow cooker to pull it together. This is a keeper! Very dubious DH & friends were amazed at how unbelievably tasty. Served with fresh chopped onion, cilantro, mint & jalapeno peppers - most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Such a great recipe!! Only thing I changed was the chile, I used New Mexico instead its not that spicy! Just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
this is a delicious recipe, no question. however, there is no reason at all why it should take 8 hours. once i knew the tripe was clean and tender (about 2 hours preparation), the soup was done in another two hours. the chiles used in this recipe are produce a spicy flavor, and i used one less arbol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
218 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
In case you don't already know, the tripe really stinks up the house when you cook it initially so a good idea to do that step outside far, far away. My wardrobe smells like tripe now. Very good recipe though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly. I give it only 4 stars because it is too spicy (I am NO wimp) and it is not as rich a broth as I am used to nor as red as I like. I incorporated the preparing the tripe hint given by reviewer "MAJORGSP"....using lime and kosher salt. I would love to try the pork feet and bone marrow idea but I have no idea how to even find bone marrow. I assume I just buy pig feet but would like to know what to do with them....when to add, do they fall apart and incorporate or do you pull them out? I did find it too spicy...and I am NO wimp. I would love more red color so I don't know what to add or what peppers to lessen in order to tone down the spice. Any help would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Red Curry Flank Steak

See how to make a super-simple steak marinade based on a spicy Thai dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States