Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
It is way easier to make a puree instead of finely blending peppers into a powder. Also, de arbol chiles are too spicy for an all around soup. California or New Mexico chiles are best suited for Menudo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I've eaten menudo for several years in many a resaurante mexicano and this is by far the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I have to agree with other people on this--it was too spicy for me. I couldn't even finish my bowl. My husband loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAVON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
i prefer lemon with mine. and i have found that this is not an inexpensive dish. tripe is not cheap. i like a lot of tripe in mine and I put ten pounds in my personal recipe. but i do not measure, i just add to taste after the tripe has cooked for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
It was okay but too spicy for menudo... i will keep my original recipe using chile guajillo. As for the people who had questions about the feet i have always been taught to cook in a seperate pan when you start the menudo since it takes a little but longer to cook through and produces a lot of grease so its easier to mix them together once they have cooked through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
For those who do not like the smell of menudo . I soak it in 1/4 cup of distilled white vinegar and cold water soak for 3 hrs and rinse and continue cooking. Been cooking this for 33 yrs. this way no smells .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
our family always uses chile ancho, we split them open, remove the seeds and veins then soak them in boiling water for about an hour to make the skins easier to remove before we blend them with the garlic and spices. all the skin does not come off just to let you know. then we add them to the soup to finish cooking with the meat. we also use beef feet and legs. makes for a great broth. just boil them with the second water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aaawitch
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong but this came out really watered down. Dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
When i first read this recipe I thought they had accidentally put tablespoons instead of teaspoons for the spices, but i followed it exactly. After tasting, and reading the coments about how hot it is, I am convinced. I mean, 1 1/2 TBL salt? The nutritional info says that is 73% of the daily requirement in each serving. I use way too much salt, and I use pepper flakes or Tabasco on everything I eat, and my first impression was this was too salty and too hot. The recipe seems solid, but next time I will substitute teaspoons and adjust upwards if neccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
this was a very spicy soup but i loved it!i will defenitly make some more but next time i will add a little less chili but me and my family LOVED it it was great! thank you for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca100

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States