Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe for the exception of the measurements for the black pepper. I thought 1 1/2 tablespoon was way too much, and cut it back to 1 teaspoon, and still that made it spicy. When I make it again, I'll use only 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, if that. I also used 4 New Mexico red peppers, and the broth vs. water in step 2. For step 1, I cooked the tripe with all the garlic and lemon, and added more garlic when I got to the broth stage. While I grew up with the smell of menudo cooking in the house, it's probably not the lost desirable scent, so I recommend cooking it outside if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was a good recipe overall but agree that the 8 hours were not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I make menudo and the pigs feet were not in your recipe. The tripe that we use is the honeycomb cost a little more but is more tasty and tender. Also have the butcher cut the pigs feet two or three of them into 4 pieces. Pigs feet add to the flavor. I use the powder chili. California Chili cause the New Mexico is too hot spicy. Also add "menudo Mix" it has all the spices you need in it sold in the Mexican spice section to the menudo then you only need to add salt and the red chili powder all our relatives always ask me to make menudo when they are coming to visit....you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthieinL.A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
I COOKED MINE DIFFERENTLY, I CLEANED THE TRIPE WITH WATER & VINEGAR OVERNIGHT (HELPS ELIMINATE SMELL). NEXT, PLACED PATA DE PUERCO(FOOT)IN POT & SUBMERGE FOOT WITH WATER, HALF AN ONION & 1 GARLIC HEAD, DOESN'T NEED TOO MUCH WATER BECAUSE IT WILL LOOSE FLAVOR. COOKED FOOT FOR 1 1/2HR OR UNTIL FOOT IS TENDER. NEXT, ADDED TRIPE AND COOKED FOR 1HR UNTIL TRIPE IS SOFT. ONCE TRIPE WAS COOKED I ADDED THE HOMINY. AFTER ADDING HOMINY I USED 4 CHILES GUAJILLO AND 4 CALIFORNIA REMOVED SEEDS AND SUBMERGED IN BOILING WATER UNTIL SOFTENED, THEN PLACED IN BLENDER WITH A LITTLE WATER AND ADDED TO POT WITH TRIPE AND HOMINY. COOKED FOR ABOUT 30 MINUTES AND FINITO! GARNISHED WITH CILANTRO, ONION, RADISH AND LIME JUICE.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2011
It is way easier to make a puree instead of finely blending peppers into a powder. Also, de arbol chiles are too spicy for an all around soup. California or New Mexico chiles are best suited for Menudo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2011
I've eaten menudo for several years in many a resaurante mexicano and this is by far the best
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gaffney, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2011
I have to agree with other people on this--it was too spicy for me. I couldn't even finish my bowl. My husband loved it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHAVON

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2011
i prefer lemon with mine. and i have found that this is not an inexpensive dish. tripe is not cheap. i like a lot of tripe in mine and I put ten pounds in my personal recipe. but i do not measure, i just add to taste after the tripe has cooked for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
It was okay but too spicy for menudo... i will keep my original recipe using chile guajillo. As for the people who had questions about the feet i have always been taught to cook in a seperate pan when you start the menudo since it takes a little but longer to cook through and produces a lot of grease so its easier to mix them together once they have cooked through
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2010
For those who do not like the smell of menudo . I soak it in 1/4 cup of distilled white vinegar and cold water soak for 3 hrs and rinse and continue cooking. Been cooking this for 33 yrs. this way no smells .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States