Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2014
The first time I made this recipe, I had never made or eaten menudo before. It turned out very spicy but my mexican husband and his mexican friends all loved it! I liked the soup broth but I personally didn't like the texture of the tripe in my mouth. Today Im switching up the recipe and adding 2 pigs feet & a 1/2 lb of bones with marrow and wanting to give this another try, its starting to cool down here in Utah so I thought Id surprise my husband again when he gets off of work. I love this soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tammie Vazquez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2014
WARNING THESE PEPPERS WILL MAKE YOUR SAUCE ORANGE NOT RED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aher5101
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2014
Too easy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2014
Love Menudo!!!!! I didnt need to skim fat off because I buy the Honeycomb Tripe that is trimmed already. I also dont drain the broth, I loved the extra taste of the peppers, this one rocks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommaDar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
I really liked this recipe. I'm posting this review to answer the question about the "redness" of the broth. Most people I know that make menudo use a can of "el pato" brand tomato sauce or salsa de chili fresca. This has chilis and salt in it. So you may want to adjust your salt and chilis if you're one of these people saying this recipe it "too hot." hope this helps!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2013
I tried this recipe yesterday and I DID cook the tripe in the pressure cooker for 4o minutes. I cooked the pigs trotters in another pressure cooker for 15 minutes. Turned out beautifully and eliminated hours of cooking. I borrowed from another reviewer and rubbed the tripe with kosher salt and the juice of two limes and let it sit for a few hours. I rinsed it prior to cooking. I used dried California chili's that I soaked in hot water and scraped the flesh from the skins. They were absolutely devoid of heat. So I used 4 tablespoons of red pepper. I did not use the jalapenos. This dish turned out wonderfully well. It's time consuming - but I'll make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I've made menudo before that came out way too hot. This time, I'm following this recipe with the powder spice mix, no jalapeno peppers but California peppers. I'm not adding any sodium but I am adding pig's feet for the flavor. And to infuse the flavors into the meat, this will cook all day, with the spices in the first addition of items.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2013
Great recipe for the exception of the measurements for the black pepper. I thought 1 1/2 tablespoon was way too much, and cut it back to 1 teaspoon, and still that made it spicy. When I make it again, I'll use only 1/2 teaspoon of black pepper, if that. I also used 4 New Mexico red peppers, and the broth vs. water in step 2. For step 1, I cooked the tripe with all the garlic and lemon, and added more garlic when I got to the broth stage. While I grew up with the smell of menudo cooking in the house, it's probably not the lost desirable scent, so I recommend cooking it outside if possible.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
This was a good recipe overall but agree that the 8 hours were not necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by getsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
I make menudo and the pigs feet were not in your recipe. The tripe that we use is the honeycomb cost a little more but is more tasty and tender. Also have the butcher cut the pigs feet two or three of them into 4 pieces. Pigs feet add to the flavor. I use the powder chili. California Chili cause the New Mexico is too hot spicy. Also add "menudo Mix" it has all the spices you need in it sold in the Mexican spice section to the menudo then you only need to add salt and the red chili powder all our relatives always ask me to make menudo when they are coming to visit....you will love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RuthieinL.A.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States