Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2004
This is an excellent Menudo recipe. I added two pork feet and some bone marrow in step no. 2, making a richer broth. Also, I bought whole tripe and washed it first in several exchanges of cold water, then rubbed in the juice of two whole limes and about two teaspoons of Kosher salt, washed it again and sliced. I did this only because this is how I learned to prepare the tripe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
This was great!!!! I followed the recipe to a T the only thing I can say is that it came out really spicy. The peppers I used were kinda big so next time I'm gona cut down on the peppers. I served some to my neighbors who are from Mexico and and they love it but they thought it was a little to spicy also. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Riverside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
One of the best tasting menudo I've had. I followed this recipe to make menudo for the first time. Everyone loved it!! My husband doesn't like to eat leftovers but he ate this for three days straight. Most of our guest were impressed on how flavorful it was. Thank you so much for sharing your recipe. I will definately save this and make it again. It's takes a long time to prepare but since everyone loved it ---it was worth it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
After reading the reviews, I was excited to try this new recipe. However, I was very disappointed with the results. It came out way too spicy, (& i love spicy food) so I had to drain some of the water and I blended up some dried Guajillo chiles I had on hand to give it some additional flavor and color since the color wasn't the true aunthentic version I'm familiar with. It was very watered down. My family enjoyed it, but my husband (who raves about my cooking) didn't care for it at all. He said he prefers and loves the way I originally make it because it's tastier and has a more richer and redder color to the juice. I use a combination of chile California, New Mexico and Guajillo in my own recipe. I think I'm gonna stick to my own version afterall.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommy022

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: West Covina, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I followed this recipe exactly. I give it only 4 stars because it is too spicy (I am NO wimp) and it is not as rich a broth as I am used to nor as red as I like. I incorporated the preparing the tripe hint given by reviewer "MAJORGSP"....using lime and kosher salt. I would love to try the pork feet and bone marrow idea but I have no idea how to even find bone marrow. I assume I just buy pig feet but would like to know what to do with them....when to add, do they fall apart and incorporate or do you pull them out? I did find it too spicy...and I am NO wimp. I would love more red color so I don't know what to add or what peppers to lessen in order to tone down the spice. Any help would be appreciated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2007
In case you don't already know, the tripe really stinks up the house when you cook it initially so a good idea to do that step outside far, far away. My wardrobe smells like tripe now. Very good recipe though. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2007
this is a delicious recipe, no question. however, there is no reason at all why it should take 8 hours. once i knew the tripe was clean and tender (about 2 hours preparation), the soup was done in another two hours. the chiles used in this recipe are produce a spicy flavor, and i used one less arbol.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
214 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Such a great recipe!! Only thing I changed was the chile, I used New Mexico instead its not that spicy! Just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I sliced the honeycomb tripe in 1/4 x 1 inch slices after parboiling tripe in salted water for 2 hours. Used the slow cooker to pull it together. This is a keeper! Very dubious DH & friends were amazed at how unbelievably tasty. Served with fresh chopped onion, cilantro, mint & jalapeno peppers - most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I have made this a few times as the recipe reads (less some of the pepper) & now my family wants it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every other day. It seems I can never make enough because they devour it no matter how much I double even triple the recipe. I made an experimental batch for dinner tonight putting my own twist on it and suprisingly it turned out AWESOME!!! I added 2 lbs hog maws, 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium potatoes (cut into 4's), and 6 pig tails. I let it cook on the stove for two hours (minus the potatoes and bacon). I let it cook down and then added my second gallon of water letting it cook for an additional hour. I then transfered everything to the crock pot (adding potatoes and bacon) and let it slow cook for an additional 4 hours (didn't even need the third gallon of water). WOW....I know this goes against what menudo may be, but try it. You will be suprised how flavorful and meaty this turns out to be. I hit a home run with my family and neighbors making it this way. Happy eating....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States