Menudo Rojo (Red Menudo) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2010
Not sure what I did wrong but this came out really watered down. Dissapointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angela

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2010
When i first read this recipe I thought they had accidentally put tablespoons instead of teaspoons for the spices, but i followed it exactly. After tasting, and reading the coments about how hot it is, I am convinced. I mean, 1 1/2 TBL salt? The nutritional info says that is 73% of the daily requirement in each serving. I use way too much salt, and I use pepper flakes or Tabasco on everything I eat, and my first impression was this was too salty and too hot. The recipe seems solid, but next time I will substitute teaspoons and adjust upwards if neccessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2010
this was a very spicy soup but i loved it!i will defenitly make some more but next time i will add a little less chili but me and my family LOVED it it was great! thank you for the recipie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rebecca100

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2010
I too added broth instead of water. Also, some cubed pork. This is the best menudo I have ever ate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Arvada, Colorado, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2010
Way hot , but i like hot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
This was very good. My husband cooked the tripe outdoors so we didn't get the smell in the house. This is truly a make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diana Naas
Living In: Ione, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2009
I have made menudo for many years and, after reading the comments, have some 'hints' to offer. Yes, the tripe smells awful when cooking and one thing that helps a lot is adding 6-8 cloves of garlic and a lemon (cut in half and the juice squeezed in) in step one. The garlic cooks and doesn't add a strong garlic flavor. In step two, I would add broth in place of water and some cubed, sauted pork. This adds the hearty flavor that is missing when only tripe and water are used. I also use pureed New Mexico red chili, adjust to your taste. I hope you enjoy my tried and true 'hints'.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
538 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2009
This is an excellent recipe. I have made this a few times as the recipe reads (less some of the pepper) & now my family wants it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner every other day. It seems I can never make enough because they devour it no matter how much I double even triple the recipe. I made an experimental batch for dinner tonight putting my own twist on it and suprisingly it turned out AWESOME!!! I added 2 lbs hog maws, 6 slices of bacon, 4 medium potatoes (cut into 4's), and 6 pig tails. I let it cook on the stove for two hours (minus the potatoes and bacon). I let it cook down and then added my second gallon of water letting it cook for an additional hour. I then transfered everything to the crock pot (adding potatoes and bacon) and let it slow cook for an additional 4 hours (didn't even need the third gallon of water). WOW....I know this goes against what menudo may be, but try it. You will be suprised how flavorful and meaty this turns out to be. I hit a home run with my family and neighbors making it this way. Happy eating....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Renay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Wonderful recipe! I sliced the honeycomb tripe in 1/4 x 1 inch slices after parboiling tripe in salted water for 2 hours. Used the slow cooker to pull it together. This is a keeper! Very dubious DH & friends were amazed at how unbelievably tasty. Served with fresh chopped onion, cilantro, mint & jalapeno peppers - most delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2008
Such a great recipe!! Only thing I changed was the chile, I used New Mexico instead its not that spicy! Just loved it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Veracruz-Style Red Snapper

See how to make a quick and delicious Mexican Gulf Coast seafood recipe.

Easy Red Pepper Hummus

See how to make quick-and-easy hummus with red bell peppers.

Ukrainian Red Borscht Soup

See how to make an authentic beet and sausage soup straight from the Ukraine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States