Mennonite Cabbage Potato Kielbasa Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2015
My children love Kielbasa, so we loved this recipe. It's a mild flavored dish, but the kielbasa seasoning really shines through with the gentle potatoes and cabbage making it more hearty and warming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2015
I fried the onions,cabbage and kiebasa first,and added 6 pieces of bacon cut up...time was perfect and taste was wonderful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Surprisingly good! My husband had major doubts but went back for seconds right away! Next time will go without the bread topping (a little too bland). And will probably cut the sausage into smaller pieces. Cooked covered in foil for an hour to be sure cabbage and potatoes were done. But will definitely do again. Simple. Easy. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This recipe wasn't good at all. First the time it baked in the oven was not sufficient to get the cabbage done. The bread topping was bland and unnecessary. The taste was very bland and just a waste of my time and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Yummy comfort food! Followed the recipe exactly except I did microwave the diced potatoes for about 5 minutes. I used the bagged shredded cabbage so was super quick to put together. I did cover with foil for the first 30 minutes and uncovered for the last 15...perfect! Will make this again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great base recipe! Delicious as is, or add whatever veggies you have in the kitchen. I made this with leftover Brats from a BBQ the day before and added cauliflower, broccoli, celery, and a little onion to the cabbage and potatoes. Based on previous reviews, before adding the milk/egg mixture I poured about 1/2 cup of chicken broth in and covered with foil before baking. I baked it for 45 minutes, removed the foil and cooked an additional 15 minutes. I live at high altitude and usually have to cook things longer and with additional liquid so this may not have been needed at sea level. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was pretty good! I cooked the potato cubes in the microwave for six minutes before adding them to the cabbage, and I covered it for the first thirty minutes and then uncovered for the last fifteen. The cabbage and potatoes were definitely fully cooked, and it was still very moist. My husband said it was very good. I served it with cut-up fruit, which I think is better than a cooked vegetable with this, and dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this as is( with extra time in the oven and a little added chicken broth), and it was delicious, but we thought the bread was unnecessary. So, the second time I made it in two batches, with two different variations. In the first, I omitted only the bread (but used a mix of traditional and turkey kielbasa, to cut the fat content). My mother and husband are both diabetics, so this cut way down on the carbs (even though I did use whole grain bread the first time I made it). The second variation was much more drastic: I omitted the potatoes, and added 2 cubed sweet potatoes and three (well-scrubbed but not peeled) cubed beets. The beets, as you might imagine gave the dish a reddish-tinge, but all five of us thought both dished were excellent. My parents begged for leftovers and ate them for days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome! Just good, hearty comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this tonight for New Year's Day and my family absolutely loved it! It is delicious. I did have to make 2 changes to make sure the potatoes and cabbage were cooked all the way. I put the diced potatoes in the microwave for 6 minutes before I mixed it with the sausage/cabbage mix. After that, I followed the recipe to the letter. After the 45 minutes baking time, the cabbage was still raw. So I took another reviewer's advice and added chicken broth (2 cups) and covered the casserole dish with foil. Then I baked at 400 degrees for another 30 minutes (just to be sure.) I only had to make these changes to make sure every thing was cooked-the actual recipe is perfection. I loved the eggs on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3

Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

How to Make Au Gratin Potatoes

See how to make rich and creamy au gratin potatoes in four easy steps.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States