Mennonite Cabbage Potato Kielbasa Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was pretty good! I cooked the potato cubes in the microwave for six minutes before adding them to the cabbage, and I covered it for the first thirty minutes and then uncovered for the last fifteen. The cabbage and potatoes were definitely fully cooked, and it was still very moist. My husband said it was very good. I served it with cut-up fruit, which I think is better than a cooked vegetable with this, and dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this as is( with extra time in the oven and a little added chicken broth), and it was delicious, but we thought the bread was unnecessary. So, the second time I made it in two batches, with two different variations. In the first, I omitted only the bread (but used a mix of traditional and turkey kielbasa, to cut the fat content). My mother and husband are both diabetics, so this cut way down on the carbs (even though I did use whole grain bread the first time I made it). The second variation was much more drastic: I omitted the potatoes, and added 2 cubed sweet potatoes and three (well-scrubbed but not peeled) cubed beets. The beets, as you might imagine gave the dish a reddish-tinge, but all five of us thought both dished were excellent. My parents begged for leftovers and ate them for days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome! Just good, hearty comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this tonight for New Year's Day and my family absolutely loved it! It is delicious. I did have to make 2 changes to make sure the potatoes and cabbage were cooked all the way. I put the diced potatoes in the microwave for 6 minutes before I mixed it with the sausage/cabbage mix. After that, I followed the recipe to the letter. After the 45 minutes baking time, the cabbage was still raw. So I took another reviewer's advice and added chicken broth (2 cups) and covered the casserole dish with foil. Then I baked at 400 degrees for another 30 minutes (just to be sure.) I only had to make these changes to make sure every thing was cooked-the actual recipe is perfection. I loved the eggs on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I was nervous about this being bland, but I actually really liked it. It tasted like a simple comfort food, meat and potatoes, kind of dish. I added a little extra salt to my bowl, my hubby added a dash of extra pepper to his, but all that was done at the table according to preference, so the recipe itself is pretty good. Don't expect any "wow" sort of flavoring - this isn't a pretentious dish. But it tastes good... and safe. Like I said, its a meat and potatoes comfort food type dish. I used 2 med/large russet potatoes (slightly more than 2 cups) and they were diced fairly small (1/4-1/2" dices). Used Hillshire Farms Polska Kielbsa - it was only 13-14oz. No one would have complained over having more sausage in it, but there was enough and it wasn't worth opening another pack just for those few extra ounces. My store didn't have small heads of cabbage, but even then, I could barely fit 1/2 of a large head in (including all the leaves I removed to line the pan with). I just put in as much as my pan would allow. I baked for 40 minutes with no foil, checked the potatoes and they weren't quite done. covered with foil, as the tops were browning already and some exposed cabbage liners were burning. 15 more minutes with foil on did the trick. I will definitely make this again sometime. It was pretty easy and a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It was sort of Bland, even tho I added bell peppers and onions. Did not have milk, so I used one cup of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2013
This was really good. Even reheated. The only thing I would recommend is using a bigger pan. I didn't use all of the cabbage because I couldn't fit it in the pan, but it would have been better with all of it. I wasn't too sure about the eggs, but I think that was my favorite part. This is a great weeknight meal that is good for leftover lunches.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2013
Really great, easy dish to make. I was a little concerned that it wouldn't be flavorful because there wasn't a lot of seasoning in the recipe, but the kielbasa really flavors the whole dish. It's simple and delicious. The only modification I made (due to lack of bread in the house) was omitting the bread, and adding buttered breadcrumbs on top. I also had a problem with the potatoes not being cooked after 45 minutes, but another 10 minutes with foil on did the trick (as another reviewer suggested). I didn't even need to add any extra broth. Next time, I'll try cooking lasagna style...covered in foil for the first 30 minutes, and uncovered for the last 15 to crisp it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Delicious! The only problem I had was in the cooking directions. The potatoes and cabbage were not done within the given cooking time, so I poured about a quarter cup of chicken broth over it and covered in foil so that the veggies would steam and back in the oven for 10 more minutes. I knew it was a winner when my husband said right away,"This is really good"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hodges, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
I made this for my family last night. We substituted brats for the kielbasa. I have 7 children at home and they all loved this recipe. I obviously doubled it but other than the brats made the recipe as written. It's not often I make something that's a hit with all of them, so this rates 5 stars in my opinion. Thanks for the wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Braised Chicken Apple Sausages and Cabbage

See how to make a simple and comforting one-pot meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States