Mennonite Cabbage Potato Kielbasa Bake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
Surprisingly good! My husband had major doubts but went back for seconds right away! Next time will go without the bread topping (a little too bland). And will probably cut the sausage into smaller pieces. Cooked covered in foil for an hour to be sure cabbage and potatoes were done. But will definitely do again. Simple. Easy. Tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
This recipe wasn't good at all. First the time it baked in the oven was not sufficient to get the cabbage done. The bread topping was bland and unnecessary. The taste was very bland and just a waste of my time and ingredients. I have a recipe that uses Cabbage, onion,garlic,potatoes,rutabaga,carrots and kielbasa- all cut about the same size(shred or chop cabbage). pour a can of chicken broth over all and salt and pepper to taste. Cover tightly and bake an hour. Use any combo of the vegies. It's wonderful..try it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
Yummy comfort food! Followed the recipe exactly except I did microwave the diced potatoes for about 5 minutes. I used the bagged shredded cabbage so was super quick to put together. I did cover with foil for the first 30 minutes and uncovered for the last 15...perfect! Will make this again...thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2014
Great base recipe! Delicious as is, or add whatever veggies you have in the kitchen. I made this with leftover Brats from a BBQ the day before and added cauliflower, broccoli, celery, and a little onion to the cabbage and potatoes. Based on previous reviews, before adding the milk/egg mixture I poured about 1/2 cup of chicken broth in and covered with foil before baking. I baked it for 45 minutes, removed the foil and cooked an additional 15 minutes. I live at high altitude and usually have to cook things longer and with additional liquid so this may not have been needed at sea level. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Englewood, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2014
This was pretty good! I cooked the potato cubes in the microwave for six minutes before adding them to the cabbage, and I covered it for the first thirty minutes and then uncovered for the last fifteen. The cabbage and potatoes were definitely fully cooked, and it was still very moist. My husband said it was very good. I served it with cut-up fruit, which I think is better than a cooked vegetable with this, and dinner rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2014
I made this as is( with extra time in the oven and a little added chicken broth), and it was delicious, but we thought the bread was unnecessary. So, the second time I made it in two batches, with two different variations. In the first, I omitted only the bread (but used a mix of traditional and turkey kielbasa, to cut the fat content). My mother and husband are both diabetics, so this cut way down on the carbs (even though I did use whole grain bread the first time I made it). The second variation was much more drastic: I omitted the potatoes, and added 2 cubed sweet potatoes and three (well-scrubbed but not peeled) cubed beets. The beets, as you might imagine gave the dish a reddish-tinge, but all five of us thought both dished were excellent. My parents begged for leftovers and ate them for days!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2014
Awesome! Just good, hearty comfort food at its best!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
I made this tonight for New Year's Day and my family absolutely loved it! It is delicious. I did have to make 2 changes to make sure the potatoes and cabbage were cooked all the way. I put the diced potatoes in the microwave for 6 minutes before I mixed it with the sausage/cabbage mix. After that, I followed the recipe to the letter. After the 45 minutes baking time, the cabbage was still raw. So I took another reviewer's advice and added chicken broth (2 cups) and covered the casserole dish with foil. Then I baked at 400 degrees for another 30 minutes (just to be sure.) I only had to make these changes to make sure every thing was cooked-the actual recipe is perfection. I loved the eggs on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by momof3
Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I was nervous about this being bland, but I actually really liked it. It tasted like a simple comfort food, meat and potatoes, kind of dish. I added a little extra salt to my bowl, my hubby added a dash of extra pepper to his, but all that was done at the table according to preference, so the recipe itself is pretty good. Don't expect any "wow" sort of flavoring - this isn't a pretentious dish. But it tastes good... and safe. Like I said, its a meat and potatoes comfort food type dish. I used 2 med/large russet potatoes (slightly more than 2 cups) and they were diced fairly small (1/4-1/2" dices). Used Hillshire Farms Polska Kielbsa - it was only 13-14oz. No one would have complained over having more sausage in it, but there was enough and it wasn't worth opening another pack just for those few extra ounces. My store didn't have small heads of cabbage, but even then, I could barely fit 1/2 of a large head in (including all the leaves I removed to line the pan with). I just put in as much as my pan would allow. I baked for 40 minutes with no foil, checked the potatoes and they weren't quite done. covered with foil, as the tops were browning already and some exposed cabbage liners were burning. 15 more minutes with foil on did the trick. I will definitely make this again sometime. It was pretty easy and a nice change of pace.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
It was sort of Bland, even tho I added bell peppers and onions. Did not have milk, so I used one cup of chicken stock.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Sausage, Zucchini, & Potato Stew

See how to make a simple, flavorful vegetable and sausage stew.

Mom's Potato Latkes

Crispy, fried potato patties you can serve up for breakfast, lunch, or dinner.

Cabbage Roll Casserole

See how to make an easy, hearty, beef and cabbage casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States