Mendocino Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Fantabulous. Realize that EVERYTHING in this salad plays its part -- the smokiness of the chicken, the sweet grape juice-bombs, and the crunchiness of the almonds and celery, to name a few. I could not find smoked chicken, so I threw four half-chicken breasts, two teaspoons of hickory liquid smoke (spice or bbq sauce aisle), some olive oil, and fresh ground pepper in a ziploc bag overnight, rubbing and turning once or twice, and then simply baked them in the morning (don't overcook!). Also, added things to the bowl in a certain way (not sure how much it mattered, but I didn't want the grapes crushed): chicken, onion, celery, then almonds. Then I lightly salted and peppered, tossing. Then the grapes, mayo and basil, gently. Tripled the batch, brought it to an Easter picnic, and people RAVED. My only tip? Increase the chicken by about half, and make it all the night before -- I'm sure the flavors will blend even better after some hours in the fridge. Kristine, will you marry me? :) Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
61 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2002
I loved this salad! I couldn't find a package of smoked chicken breast, so I substituted a 6 oz. pkg. of grilled chicken. However, although the packaged chicken was convenient, I found that it was extremely salty and this detracted from the salad. Next time I'll grill or poach chicken myself and probably use a little more than 6 oz. This is definitely a keeper recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2005
I loved this recipe! I was looking for a party appetizer and decided to make this and serve it in bread bowls made in muffin tins. They all disappeared at the party. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2005
DELICIOUS!! The supermarket didn't have smoked chicken so I substituted smoked turkey breast. I toasted my almonds before adding them to the mix. I added a few sprinkles of black pepper. I fixed it the night before our picnic to let the flavors blend. It was wonderful. We had it on croissants and in wraps at the picnic. The next day I had it on a cheese bagel. Tastes good any way you eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2005
This is a great change in the weekly lunch routine. Very chunky and crunchy. I skipped the almonds as my boyfriend is allergic, & used the rotisserie chicken. He loves it! Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PINKCOURTNEY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Michigan, USA
Living In: Kalamazoo, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is my favorite chicken salad recipe to date. My uncle and I finished off the whole bowl in less than an hour. I did make a few changes due to what I had on hand. I used a rotisserie chicken, dried basil instead of fresh and pecans instead of almonds. I also added a handful of dried cherries, golden raisins, craisins and dried apricots. I served this over shredded romaine along with cheese, crackers and dill pickles. This was absolutely wonderful and I'm already planning on passing it along to others. Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This salad turned out to be a true delicacy. In the past I have made a similar one that called for tarragon, tarragon vinegar, and just plain cooked turkey, but this one is better. I think it is because of the smoked meat (I used Jennie-O sun-dried tomato Hickory Smoked Turkey Breast). Since I had 1-1/2 cups of grapes, I increased the turkey to 7 oz. and the onion to 3/4 cup. Cut the mayo to 1/2 cup of low-fat, and mixed 1 Tbs. of dried basil (didn't have any fresh) into it before I added it to the salad. Next time I would use either coarsely chopped almonds or pecans because the slivered almonds got lost somewhere. The salad was a little dry so I added a sprinkle of chicken broth to wet it up. VERY, VERY, VERY GOOD. Do try this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I made this recipe on a whim using the "whatever I have in my kitchen" attitude. That being said, I used chicken thighs and legs that I simmered with onion, fresh basil (but I didn't have as much as was called for), pecans, Vidalia onion, red grapes (again, I only had a small handful left in the fridge), mayo and S&P. I had no celery. It still turned out just great! I think the basil gives it such wonderful flavor, and the sweetness of the grapes is just awesome with the crunch of the nuts. It would be just perfect with the smoked chicken, I think. I can't wait to try it again! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
Good Good Good. Made this recipe for a special Chrismas lunch for a friend. She loved it. My tweaks for this recipe...I would like to try a sprinkling of dill weed...and I found that when I mounded the salad on top of the lettuces, that there wasn't really "dressing" for the lettuce. What came to mind is the next time, I think I'll tear the lettuces (or buy the prepackaged "three lettuce"bag)...into a bowl, and swish a bit of sweet sesame dressing (like the kind you'd use for spinach salad) on it. Not alot, just a little, to give the lettuce just a twinge of sweet taste to compliment the salad. I too used smoked turkey from the deli. Worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I followed the receipe at it was absolute yummy. I added a little bit of pepper, otherwise I wouldn't change a thing. Will make it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States