Mendocino Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2004
FAB salad! I could not find smoked chicken in the grocery store, so I subbed smoked turkey from the deli dept. instead. It turned out great. I've made this several times, I also subbed the basil with dried Italian seasoning and the results were very good. Try it, you will love this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kirkland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2004
We substitued the roast chicken from the deli for the smoked chicken and served on whole wheat pita bread. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2004
Could not find a smoked chicken breast (will keep my eyes open to find one though and use it!) but used a rotissere chicken as another reviewer suggested. It was delicious! Perfect chicken salad and very filling!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 1COOKINGCHICK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marietta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2004
This is my favorite chicken salad recipe to date. My uncle and I finished off the whole bowl in less than an hour. I did make a few changes due to what I had on hand. I used a rotisserie chicken, dried basil instead of fresh and pecans instead of almonds. I also added a handful of dried cherries, golden raisins, craisins and dried apricots. I served this over shredded romaine along with cheese, crackers and dill pickles. This was absolutely wonderful and I'm already planning on passing it along to others. Thanks so much for submitting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2004
This is the best chicken salad I have ever tasted!I used red seedless grapes & added alittle extra chicken. Easy to prepare & definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathleen Bayramian

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Somis, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
I love this recipe, the grapes and basil are a great combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2003
Pretty tasty. I used a whole roasted chicken from Walmart and didn't have grapes so I substituted dried cherries. This was very good. Decided we liked this better served alone instead of on bread or a pita. The basil is a must!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JDVMD

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Elizabethtown, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2003
I mixed this up today to take to an amusement park -- my dietary needs make it very hard to eat out in a place like that. This was perfect -- delicious, filling, and portable; I didn't feel deprived at all. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2003
This was so delicious! My husband and I loved it! The smoked chicken and basil really do make it different. I didn't change a thing with this recipe . . . and it is definitely a keeper! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Aloha, Oregon, USA
Living In: Syracuse, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
These flavors are fantastic together! However, it takes a little more than 15 minutes to complete this recipe. I also doubled the recipe since I could only find a WHOLE smoked chicken and then I added a little pepper. It's even better the second day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States