Mendocino Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2005
This salad turned out to be a true delicacy. In the past I have made a similar one that called for tarragon, tarragon vinegar, and just plain cooked turkey, but this one is better. I think it is because of the smoked meat (I used Jennie-O sun-dried tomato Hickory Smoked Turkey Breast). Since I had 1-1/2 cups of grapes, I increased the turkey to 7 oz. and the onion to 3/4 cup. Cut the mayo to 1/2 cup of low-fat, and mixed 1 Tbs. of dried basil (didn't have any fresh) into it before I added it to the salad. Next time I would use either coarsely chopped almonds or pecans because the slivered almonds got lost somewhere. The salad was a little dry so I added a sprinkle of chicken broth to wet it up. VERY, VERY, VERY GOOD. Do try this salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2005
I made this recently for a big lunch at work and it went over great with everyone. I used 13 oz cans white meat chicken to further simplify the recipe and added garlic salt, otherwise followed the recipe as printed. For this event,I wrapped sandwiches ahead of time with leaf lettuce and used croissants. The consistency of the chicken works well on sandwiches or served over lettuce. So easy to make! A keeper!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2005
This was OK--nothing really fantastic. Didn't go over that well in our house, but we ate it anyway. Still looking for that perfect chicken salad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2005
YUMMY!!!! I made these to take on a picinic, and served them in sun dried tomato-basil tortilla's, and they were FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRANGIE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2005
This was good, but I am still looking for the perfect chicken salad recipe. I used rotisserie chicken which had a great flavor, and the fresh basil really gave the salad a unique taste. But I felt as if the salad was still a little bland, and I could not figure out what it was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Loved at Ladies Luncheon! I served this recipe on croissants to 75 ladies at our church. A Big Hit! Used Sam's Club canned chicken, miracle whip, and dried basil. Still had great flavor. Made night before to let flavors blend. Excellent recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Abilene, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I made this recipe on a whim using the "whatever I have in my kitchen" attitude. That being said, I used chicken thighs and legs that I simmered with onion, fresh basil (but I didn't have as much as was called for), pecans, Vidalia onion, red grapes (again, I only had a small handful left in the fridge), mayo and S&P. I had no celery. It still turned out just great! I think the basil gives it such wonderful flavor, and the sweetness of the grapes is just awesome with the crunch of the nuts. It would be just perfect with the smoked chicken, I think. I can't wait to try it again! Thanks a bunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
This was a big hit on a girls weekend away. I did change it a bit since I couldn't find any smoked chicken. I used regular chicken but added diced smoked gouda cheese. Everyone raved and wanted more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2005
Fantabulous. Realize that EVERYTHING in this salad plays its part -- the smokiness of the chicken, the sweet grape juice-bombs, and the crunchiness of the almonds and celery, to name a few. I could not find smoked chicken, so I threw four half-chicken breasts, two teaspoons of hickory liquid smoke (spice or bbq sauce aisle), some olive oil, and fresh ground pepper in a ziploc bag overnight, rubbing and turning once or twice, and then simply baked them in the morning (don't overcook!). Also, added things to the bowl in a certain way (not sure how much it mattered, but I didn't want the grapes crushed): chicken, onion, celery, then almonds. Then I lightly salted and peppered, tossing. Then the grapes, mayo and basil, gently. Tripled the batch, brought it to an Easter picnic, and people RAVED. My only tip? Increase the chicken by about half, and make it all the night before -- I'm sure the flavors will blend even better after some hours in the fridge. Kristine, will you marry me? :) Thank you for this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States