Mendocino Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is a really great recipe. I buy chicken breasts and cook them myself instead of buying the pre-cooked stuff and cut down on the mayonnaise since I don't like a lot of mayo. I also add a bit of dijon mustard to give it some extra flavor. The grapes and almonds really make this awesome though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was super as written but I always tweak my recipes to my families taste. I omitted celery and used granny smith and chopped dried cranberries for the sweetness. Added 1 fresh jalapeno and toasted the almonds, doubled the chicken as others suggested. The basil added a unique flavor and it all works together so well. This is my new potluck or picnic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
An easy recipe and a keeper. The basil is a must; no other spice is needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Oh my goodness this is AMAZING! We grill/smoke chicken quarters and breasts for large groups a few times a year, and I usually end up with several leftover pieces of chicken with that yummy smoky flavor. Since I found this recipe, that is what I do with the chicken. The dark meat tastes great in this salad too. I have used sweet TX 1015 onions instead of the red sometimes and pecans instead of the almonds. Depends on what's on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made this chicken salad for our office potluck and it was all gone within minutes. The only thing I did differently is I added spring onions to the red simply because I love the taste of spring onions and it was very flavorful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this recipe not knowing what to expect. I used canned chicken, quartered the grapes, and used white onion. It was AMAZING! The best chicken salad sandwiches I have ever tasted. I think the only thing I would recommend changing is maybe to toast the almonds and use a little less than a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
YUM - love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I usually use a whole rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and adjust ingredients accordingly (minus celery bc I'm not that fond of it). This chicken salad is good alone or in a sandwich. Something about the basil and smoky-ness of the chicken is soooo good! I've shared this with other people, and everyone agrees that this is a winner! I will continue to make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndaslp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is what chicken salad should taste! A truly perfect taste. However, I prefer a slightly different texture. I grated 1/2 of the chicken with a cheese grater and cubed the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amymhis
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I loved this! very fresh, feel good kind of chicken salad, reminds me a lot of the panara bread napa chicken salad! I did alter some thing... I used 2 bags of chicken instead of 1, upped to 2 cups of red grapes (halved), 3/4 cup of the almonds, 1 1/2 cup miracle whip, and left the rest of the ingredients the same, but also added salt, pepper, ground mustard, and sesame seeds. I put it on bread with a couple slices of tomato and BAM! Home made gourmet chicken salad! This is just what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amymhis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, California, USA
Living In: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States