Mendocino Chicken Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
This is a really great recipe. I buy chicken breasts and cook them myself instead of buying the pre-cooked stuff and cut down on the mayonnaise since I don't like a lot of mayo. I also add a bit of dijon mustard to give it some extra flavor. The grapes and almonds really make this awesome though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was super as written but I always tweak my recipes to my families taste. I omitted celery and used granny smith and chopped dried cranberries for the sweetness. Added 1 fresh jalapeno and toasted the almonds, doubled the chicken as others suggested. The basil added a unique flavor and it all works together so well. This is my new potluck or picnic dish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA
Living In: New Braunfels, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2012
An easy recipe and a keeper. The basil is a must; no other spice is needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2012
Oh my goodness this is AMAZING! We grill/smoke chicken quarters and breasts for large groups a few times a year, and I usually end up with several leftover pieces of chicken with that yummy smoky flavor. Since I found this recipe, that is what I do with the chicken. The dark meat tastes great in this salad too. I have used sweet TX 1015 onions instead of the red sometimes and pecans instead of the almonds. Depends on what's on hand!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
I made this chicken salad for our office potluck and it was all gone within minutes. The only thing I did differently is I added spring onions to the red simply because I love the taste of spring onions and it was very flavorful. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Richmond, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
I made this recipe not knowing what to expect. I used canned chicken, quartered the grapes, and used white onion. It was AMAZING! The best chicken salad sandwiches I have ever tasted. I think the only thing I would recommend changing is maybe to toast the almonds and use a little less than a full cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
YUM - love this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I love this recipe! I usually use a whole rotisserie chicken from the grocery store and adjust ingredients accordingly (minus celery bc I'm not that fond of it). This chicken salad is good alone or in a sandwich. Something about the basil and smoky-ness of the chicken is soooo good! I've shared this with other people, and everyone agrees that this is a winner! I will continue to make this over and over again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lyndaslp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bastrop, Louisiana, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
This is what chicken salad should taste! A truly perfect taste. However, I prefer a slightly different texture. I grated 1/2 of the chicken with a cheese grater and cubed the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Belvidere, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by amymhis
Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I loved this! very fresh, feel good kind of chicken salad, reminds me a lot of the panara bread napa chicken salad! I did alter some thing... I used 2 bags of chicken instead of 1, upped to 2 cups of red grapes (halved), 3/4 cup of the almonds, 1 1/2 cup miracle whip, and left the rest of the ingredients the same, but also added salt, pepper, ground mustard, and sesame seeds. I put it on bread with a couple slices of tomato and BAM! Home made gourmet chicken salad! This is just what I needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amymhis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sun Valley, California, USA
Living In: Hudson, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 85) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Becky’s Chicken Salad

Discover the secret ingredient that gives this chicken salad a sweet lift.

Fruited Curry Chicken Salad

A creamy curry chicken salad that’s loaded with fruit and nuts.

Basic Chicken Salad

See how to make a simple chicken salad that’s, well, basically delicious!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States