Mendi's Favorite Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
MESSAGE FROM THE AUTHOR HERE: Your orzo will need to cook for close to 10 minutes for it not to be hard. Test it as you go if you want to until you are comfortable cooking this style of pasta. The editors changed my orignal direction slightly on this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Beautiful, fresh and delicious--the perfect side dish. I used a specialty "Spring Medley" orzo, and eliminated both the onion powder and corn. Served with "Tenderloin with Herb Sauce" and "Green Beans with Almonds," also from this site, this was the perfect complement, with a subtle balance of flavors and colorful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very good side dish. I love the combination of vegetables with the orzo. However, the orzo was too al dente for me, so I added a cup of water with a dissolved chicken bouillon cube to the finished dish and cooked until the liquid was absorbed, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I turned this into a main dish by doubling the recipe and adding chicken breast sauteed in fresh garlic and olive oil. Omitted butter and sauteed mushrooms with the chicken. I also added a little more garlic when I added the pasta and vegetables. I use a whole wheat orzo. We really enjoyed this recipe and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is my go-to favorite side dish (and sometimes the main dish!). My husband and I love this dish, but I always add a lot of garlic and garlic salt to season it. So tasty and SO SO SO easy to make:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Excellent as a side dish. I was expecting to make an entree out of this, so I was a bit surprised to have it turn out on the bland side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Tasty, appealing to the eye, and so easy. My 5 and 3 y.o. liked it, too. Sprinkled some parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This really caught my eye...but of course I had to tweak a little. Instead of buttter I used evoo and toasted the orzo before adding the mushrooms. Used 1 cup of green peas as I don't care for corn. Hubby took one look at the dish and said "I'm not eating that!" Well...at the supper table when it was obvious how good it was he took a spoonful and declared "this is delicious!". Guess that says it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was just average to me, but my husband thought it was good. I think the recipe writer's suggestion to "use pan drippings for added flavor" would help a lot as well as adding some fresh garlic and chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was very easy to make but lacked flavor. I followed recipe exactly. Next time I will add more herbs, and add the peas at the very last minute. By the way, I used real onion instead of powder, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States