Mendi's Favorite Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Beautiful, fresh and delicious--the perfect side dish. I used a specialty "Spring Medley" orzo, and eliminated both the onion powder and corn. Served with "Tenderloin with Herb Sauce" and "Green Beans with Almonds," also from this site, this was the perfect complement, with a subtle balance of flavors and colorful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 25, 2008
MESSAGE FROM THE AUTHOR HERE: Your orzo will need to cook for close to 10 minutes for it not to be hard. Test it as you go if you want to until you are comfortable cooking this style of pasta. The editors changed my orignal direction slightly on this point.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by luv2cook
Reviewed: May 27, 2008
Very good side dish. I love the combination of vegetables with the orzo. However, the orzo was too al dente for me, so I added a cup of water with a dissolved chicken bouillon cube to the finished dish and cooked until the liquid was absorbed, and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dana Point, California, USA
Living In: Laguna Niguel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2008
My family loved the recipe. Nice light flavors and great of colors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2008
Great recipe! Easy to prepare. My husband and son loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
Tasty, appealing to the eye, and so easy. My 5 and 3 y.o. liked it, too. Sprinkled some parmesan on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Living In: Austin, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I love mushrooms, but a couple family members don't, so I omitted those, but bet this tastes better WITH. I will make them another time with mushrooms as a side for me and the mushroom lovers in the house. To make up for the olive oil, butter and mushrooms that I omitted, I added a few shakes of garlic powder and a Tastefully Simple season salt and this was a nice side dish. Can't wait to try it with the mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is quickly becoming one of my favorite side dishes! It goes with everything, and it is so yummy! The great thing is I always have these ingredients on hand, so it is easy to prepare. Thanks for submitting a wonderful and diverse recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyGoldens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I turned this into a main dish by doubling the recipe and adding chicken breast sauteed in fresh garlic and olive oil. Omitted butter and sauteed mushrooms with the chicken. I also added a little more garlic when I added the pasta and vegetables. I use a whole wheat orzo. We really enjoyed this recipe and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is great - it's our favorite orzo too! I am the only one in the family who likes mushrooms, so I leave them out. I use frozen mixed veg, with no other changes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States