Mendi's Favorite Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
Put in fresh onion and a little garlic before adding the mushrooms. Otherwise made as directed. It tasted great, even my 3 year old and 18 month old ate it. I used some small Japanese mushrooms that hid well. Next time I'll decrease the butter because it was a little too rich for my husband and I. Otherwise, it was great. Will try again with the slight variation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyofRedHeads

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
I love orzo, but to date, I hadn't found an orzo recipe that my boys (husband included) liked. Everyone gobbled this one up! Thanks for a great inexpensive and easy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cristina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2009
Fantastic taste and super easy to make
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
Excellent! I doubled the recipe and made it as written, except used a medium-large chopped onion instead of onion powder. (I did not double the oil and butter.) I will definitely make this again. One of the best recipes I've made from this site. And very, very easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
This is great - it's our favorite orzo too! I am the only one in the family who likes mushrooms, so I leave them out. I use frozen mixed veg, with no other changes. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaMock

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Pretty good, attractive, and not difficult to prepare. Somewhat bland, so it is a good foil for more highly seasoned dishes. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2009
I turned this into a main dish by doubling the recipe and adding chicken breast sauteed in fresh garlic and olive oil. Omitted butter and sauteed mushrooms with the chicken. I also added a little more garlic when I added the pasta and vegetables. I use a whole wheat orzo. We really enjoyed this recipe and I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2009
This is quickly becoming one of my favorite side dishes! It goes with everything, and it is so yummy! The great thing is I always have these ingredients on hand, so it is easy to prepare. Thanks for submitting a wonderful and diverse recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LuvMyGoldens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
I love mushrooms, but a couple family members don't, so I omitted those, but bet this tastes better WITH. I will make them another time with mushrooms as a side for me and the mushroom lovers in the house. To make up for the olive oil, butter and mushrooms that I omitted, I added a few shakes of garlic powder and a Tastefully Simple season salt and this was a nice side dish. Can't wait to try it with the mushrooms!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VJUNE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Beautiful, fresh and delicious--the perfect side dish. I used a specialty "Spring Medley" orzo, and eliminated both the onion powder and corn. Served with "Tenderloin with Herb Sauce" and "Green Beans with Almonds," also from this site, this was the perfect complement, with a subtle balance of flavors and colorful presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States