Mendi's Favorite Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Whenever I cook orzo I always make extra to keep on hand in the freezer - a great time-saver on busy nights. I used some from my freezer to make this recipe. I probably used more mushrooms than called for, but I needed to use them up. The flavor of this is subtle and makes for an excellent side dish to almost anything. Also, I made this ahead, refrigerated it, and reheated it in the microwave just before serving. We enjoyed this and we'll be making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
With the addition of garlic, this is a really good, simple pasta dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2010
This was a great easy side! I used fresh onion instead of onion powder and it was perfect. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennkl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Howell, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2010
This really caught my eye...but of course I had to tweak a little. Instead of buttter I used evoo and toasted the orzo before adding the mushrooms. Used 1 cup of green peas as I don't care for corn. Hubby took one look at the dish and said "I'm not eating that!" Well...at the supper table when it was obvious how good it was he took a spoonful and declared "this is delicious!". Guess that says it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2009
This is a great side dish! I did have to cook my orzo for 10 minutes, as the author notes in a comment. We have also added some cooked chicken breast to it, making it into a great one dish meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Colonie, New York, USA
Living In: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This is my go-to favorite side dish (and sometimes the main dish!). My husband and I love this dish, but I always add a lot of garlic and garlic salt to season it. So tasty and SO SO SO easy to make:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by New Cook

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2009
My 3 stars is based on recipe made as written. I thought it was pretty bland. Im suprised at all the rave reviews. I didnt care for the cooking method either. I made a different orzo recipe on here and it called for the orzo to be simmered in chicken stock until cooked. It was much more flavorful that way. I ended up adding a heck of alot more seasoning and parmesan to give it more flavor. Probably wont use this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is a fantastic, healthy side dish. I added 3 cloves of garlic to the olive oil and used I can't believe it's not butter. I sprinkled a bit of parmesan on top and served it with garlic chicken. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2009
This was incredible!! I followed the recipe exactly except to use smart balance in lieu of the butter and to add some fresh grated parm just before serving - and that just sent this over the top. You could do so many things to this - add garlic and shallots or whatever sounds good to you. I will double this next time so we have more leftovers!! I love this and will make it often - great side. ty ty ty Dizzy...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2009
I love this recipe. Simple, delicious flavors. It turned out perfectly on the first try.. I used half the amount of butter it asked for to make it healthier, but I'm pretty sure you don't need it at all. I added some crushed dried mint and I loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States