Mendi's Favorite Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This side dish was well received in my house. After reading the reviews for more flavor I decided to use fresh onion and garlic instead of powdered and also to cook the orzo in chicken broth. Had one serving leftover which wasn't bad warmed in the microwave. Nice side that went well with AR recipe Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Didn't have parsley on hand, so could not add it. Made everything as directed. Was a perfect side dish. Next time I might try it with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Wow! With a couple of additions this turned out fantastic, and well received at a dinner with friends. I cooked the orzo in chicken stock. When sauteeing the mushrooms I added fresh minced garlic and slivered onions. Since there would be six of us I doubled the recipe, and fortunately had a bit leftover to bring home. Simple seasoning with ground salt and pepper and total success. Can't wait to make it again -- maybe add some chicken or smoked sausage. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was my first orzo attempt and it was delicious. I did not deviate from the recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I think this recipe is great! I would make it more often if my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrypgh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was just average to me, but my husband thought it was good. I think the recipe writer's suggestion to "use pan drippings for added flavor" would help a lot as well as adding some fresh garlic and chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was very easy to make but lacked flavor. I followed recipe exactly. Next time I will add more herbs, and add the peas at the very last minute. By the way, I used real onion instead of powder, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was yum! I used canned mushrooms since I didn't have fresh and I sauteed an onion in evoo instead of onion powder. I also cooked the orzo in 4 C chicken broth and let it cook until all the water was gone and the orzo was soft. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2011
AMAZING! I LOVED IT! I added sun-dried tomato basil feta to the top when I served it. SOOO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by shannonlrusso

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2010
Whenever I cook orzo I always make extra to keep on hand in the freezer - a great time-saver on busy nights. I used some from my freezer to make this recipe. I probably used more mushrooms than called for, but I needed to use them up. The flavor of this is subtle and makes for an excellent side dish to almost anything. Also, I made this ahead, refrigerated it, and reheated it in the microwave just before serving. We enjoyed this and we'll be making it again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States