Mendi's Favorite Orzo Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I followed the advice of another reviewer and added grated parmesan at the end. I also didn't have onion powder so I sauteed onion and a clove of garlic with the peas and corn butter and EVOO. It was a hit! Even my hubby that hates peas had 2nds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2014
This is a fantastic side dish! I added more corn and peas than called for, to use up what I had on hand (I used fresh corn on the cob, 2 ears and about 1/2 a bag of frozen peas). I served this with Grilled Salmon I, also from this site, and it was delicious! Saving this one to my recipe box!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kim's Cooking Now!

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Little Chute, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kennesaw, Georgia, USA
Photo by Lori
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2014
This side dish was well received in my house. After reading the reviews for more flavor I decided to use fresh onion and garlic instead of powdered and also to cook the orzo in chicken broth. Had one serving leftover which wasn't bad warmed in the microwave. Nice side that went well with AR recipe Roast Sticky Chicken-Rotisserie Style
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lori

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2013
Didn't have parsley on hand, so could not add it. Made everything as directed. Was a perfect side dish. Next time I might try it with chicken
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
Wow! With a couple of additions this turned out fantastic, and well received at a dinner with friends. I cooked the orzo in chicken stock. When sauteeing the mushrooms I added fresh minced garlic and slivered onions. Since there would be six of us I doubled the recipe, and fortunately had a bit leftover to bring home. Simple seasoning with ground salt and pepper and total success. Can't wait to make it again -- maybe add some chicken or smoked sausage. Yum.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
This was my first orzo attempt and it was delicious. I did not deviate from the recipe. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hollywood, California, USA
Living In: Simi Valley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I think this recipe is great! I would make it more often if my husband liked it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sherrypgh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2011
This was just average to me, but my husband thought it was good. I think the recipe writer's suggestion to "use pan drippings for added flavor" would help a lot as well as adding some fresh garlic and chopped onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKIN4MYFAMILY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Conifer, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: May 3, 2011
This was very easy to make but lacked flavor. I followed recipe exactly. Next time I will add more herbs, and add the peas at the very last minute. By the way, I used real onion instead of powder, very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jeannine

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
This was yum! I used canned mushrooms since I didn't have fresh and I sauteed an onion in evoo instead of onion powder. I also cooked the orzo in 4 C chicken broth and let it cook until all the water was gone and the orzo was soft. Thanks for the great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chicken Asiago and Orzo Pasta

Learn how to make an amazingly simple orzo and chicken pasta dish.

Mom’s Favorite Baked Mac and Cheese

This creamy baked comfort food classic has two kinds of cheese.

Chuck's Favorite Mac and Cheese

This creamy mac and cheese includes cottage cheese and sour cream. Yum!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States