Mena's Baked Macaroni and Cheese with Caramelized Onion Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2013
I couldn't agree with DC_Lady any more! Use half the breadcrumbs (or less), and double or triple the amount of onion. I agree that the stock seemed pointless, and I like the idea of using Jack cheese or perhaps mixing cheeses. This recipe was dry, dusty, and flavourless. For a little more creativity, I'd suggest adding some colour, perhaps using sweet red peppers, and sprinkling with paprika?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I liked it, nice change from the plain Mac and cheese. It didnt make that much, I baked it in a 8 by 8 pan, and used crushed ritz crackers on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2012
This was pretty good. After reading other reviews, I doubled the onions and halved the breadcrumb topping. I should've let the onions cook a bit longer though-after 20 minutes, they were very soft and sweet, but not very colored. Instead of the chicken broth, I used all milk and added some organic chicken base. Next time I will add a few splashes of Worcestershire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
Mouth-watering just thinking about it! This is the best mac'n'cheese I've ever had, and it's not that difficult to make. Definitely not anything like stove-top varieties- in taste or prep. I would say the prep time on here is under-estimated, but most of your time will be spent on the roux, building it into the cheese sauce. As suggested by other reviewers, use HALF the breadcrumbs and don't waste your time on browning them. Also, I have made this recipe a few times with cooked and crumbled bacon mixed in before baking- Mouth-gazm! If you're watching your fat or cholesterol, then don't do it, but otherwise... yum
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AshleyKR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Absolutely wonderful - just the right combination of flavors!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Roseburg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2011
Made it as listed except used romano cheese instead of parmasan and cracker crumbs instead of bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2009
Although it took a bit of time...I really liked this recipe, and will make it again. I did add some swiss cheese, as well as using cream instead of milk. The caramelized onions had a great flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2008
I thought this was very tasty, although I could have used more onions and less bread crumbs. I think this would be a good meal for young, picky kids and a good way to sneak some vegetables (onions) into their systems.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ANJA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alameda, California, USA
Living In: Concord, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2007
This recipe works. Takes too long? Kinda standard for real mac & cheese. Plus the time for the grilled onions. But that's my favorite so I think it is worth it. I also grilled some stir-fry pork pieces and deglazed the pan with some white wine, adding that to the sauce right before the cheese. Freaking good. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OHCRIPE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Issaquah, Washington, USA
Living In: North Bend, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2007
I loved the concept of this recipe. I also agree, cut the bread crumbs in half. I added about a 1/2 cup of white wine also. I didn't delete anything, just added the wine with the other liquids. It was divine when it was just sauce. My small kids loved it. Then we put it together and added the bread crumbs and baked. The three of them said, "too many bread crumbs, can't taste anything else." So cut the crumbs in half, add the wine, and Bon Appetite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUE633

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kimberly, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Lander, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 12) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Baked Homemade Macaroni and Cheese

A buttery cracker topping and rich cheese sauce make it a family favorite.

Baked Mac and Cheese for One

See how to make creamy mac-and-cheese in individual portions.

Baked Macaroni and Cheese III

This baked mac and cheese is so delicious, your guests will beg for seconds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States