Memphis Rub Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2014
hell yeah!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: East Helena, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2013
This has become my hubby's favorite chicken rub!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2013
I've been using this recipe for 3 years now, and it's the one everybody wants me to do for any holiday or get together. I omit the MSG, salt and cayenne pepper. I use 1 tsp of garlic salt and 1 tsp of onion salt instead of the salt and use 1 tsp of chili powder instead of cayenne pepper. Everything else remains the same. I do this recipe for beer can chickens on the grill at 300 degrees, and they come out so juicy everytime. Great recipe for burgers and pork too... Thank you Memphis for such a wonderful dry rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
I used the rub today, seeing that it is winter here in Michigan right now I put them in the oven instead of grilling them. I put the rub on the day before and when I was ready to cook them I cut my slab of ribs in three sections and made a aluminal foil packet with each of them, I added some liquid smoke to each of them and wrapped tightley. I put them on a sheet pan and baked them slowley for a couple hours then after they were done I took out packages and basted them with some Rays bbq sauce( didn't feel like making my own) and baked them for 10 more minutes. These ribs fell off the bones the rub is wonderful and being from Michigan we don't get this taste this way and I love it! I will aways use this. I did omit the MSG I can't have that in my diet next time I will add some ginger just because I love the taste. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gimmymore

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Inkster, Michigan, USA
Living In: Romulus, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
I gave this only a 4 star because I made adjustments to it for our taste. I didn't use any white sugar, no msg, 1/2 tsp. pepper, 1/2 tsp. cayene pepper, 1 1/2 tsp. dry mustard, 2 tsp. garlic powder and 2 tsp. onion powder. I make a big batch and store it. To marinade I add a little olive oil to make it stick. Everyone in my family loves this rub. Will use for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Chula Vista, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2012
A good starter rub. The 2nd time I used it I added more cumin, chili pepper, a little basil and oregano. A little extra dry mustard also helps to spice things up. My go to for quick rub.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
This rub is great just as written. Am I the only one that thinks we need a catagory in the recipe box for things just like this, sauces, rubs etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
This was the first rub I had ever made and the first time I had made baby back ribs and everyone LOVED them!!! I am definitely saving this recipe for the next BBQ !!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2012
Awesome rub!!!!!!! I use it on chicken, pork chops and bbq ribs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I left out the MGS, left the rub soak in the baby backs for 2 hours. steamed the ribs in Beer for 4 hours at 250 degrees, added some sweet baby rays. turned up oven to 350 for45 minutes, add some more SBR and throw on a hot grill to blacken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Dry Rub for Ribs

This simple spice rub for pork ribs also works great for chicken and steaks.

Grilled Tri-Tip with Oregon Herb Rub

Tri-tip steak hits the grill with a rave-worthy spices-and-herb rub.

Big Al’s KC Bar-B-Q Sauce

See how to make a sweet, smoky Kansas City-style BBQ sauce with bite.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States