Mema's Corn Fritters Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by DwayneNAnne
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2012
Yum! (Okay I didn't really "measure" the ingredients and I substituted some veggies for others- sue me.) But these were SO tasty! I put corn, parm, onion, green pepper, and zucchini in mine. The fritters were a little cakey so I should have made the batter more runny. Served with a little lite sour cream! I bet leeks and beets would be good in them too. Next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DwayneNAnne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2012
These corn fritters were great! I don't typically review but I felt compelled to do so since it currently only has one review. The batter was the perfect thickness to produce a fritter that was crunchy on the outside and nice and soft on the inside. I used freshly shredded parmesan cheese and I added an extra tablespoon of onion. I also reduced the butter to two tablespoons and used cooking spray (along with the vegetable oil) to try to cut down some of the fat. The recipe seems to be quite versatile. Next time I think I will try adding some garam masala or curry powder and green onions and/or chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2012
I have tried out various corn fritter recipes this summer, and this is far and away the best! I substituted the kernels from two ears of leftover corn on the cob and gluten-free Bisquick but otherwise made as directed. Delicious, and the fritters held together really well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
These were delicious, will definitely be making again! I did change some things though, I added garlic to the batter and used cheddar cheese instead of shredded parm b/c thats what I had on hand. I also used double what the recipe said for bisquick in order to get the nice thick batter needed for the fritters to keep their shape in the fry pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mam5016

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millersburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Harrisburg, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2012
I made these as directed (close as a non-measurer can at any rate) and they were perfect. My daughter and I ate the entire batch for supper. Always a plus when I can both make a new dish that is easy and comes out perfectly AND meet the picky desires of my kid!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
These are really good! It made a batch of 8 silver dollar sized fritters. I made a few just as the recipe stated and then the rest I added some chopped jalapenos (2 tbsp for half of the batter) I liked the spicier ones better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by arich01

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Panama City, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
This was just the recipe I was looking for, nothing deep fried or too doughy. I made as directed but used leftover grilled corn cut off the cob. The oil/butter mix for frying was awesome, lots of butter flavor but the oil (I used olive) kept it from getting too dark batch after batch. I will absolutely make again, thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by M. Stoffel

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Allenton, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Germantown, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 7, 2013
I didn't use as much cheese as the recipe called for, but I used the 1/4C I had on hand. I was great!I can't wait to have company to make this for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Therelaxedcook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2013
Everthing you want a corn fritter to be! Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2013
Good base recipe. I didn't have onion, but I tossed in some diced green pepper and used cheddar cheese since that's what I had on hand. I made one fritter and thought it tasted bland. So I added plenty onion powder, garlic powder, season salt, black pepper, a dash of red pepper. This makes a delicious savory fritter that I've served with breakfast, lunch and dinner. Also, I've found that frying in too much butter and oil makes them greasy. I lightly coat a nonstick pan with olive oil and they turn out golden, but not oily.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Corn Fritters

See how to make crunchy, old-fashioned corn fritters.

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Creole Crab and Corn Chowder

See how to make a delicious Creole-style chowder.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States