Melting Snowmen OREO Cookie Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2012
I tried this recipe and found it extremely difficult to work with the melted chocolate. I did freeze my dough balls and followed the advice of the recipe reviews. This task is really frustrating and I find it hard to believe it ever ends up looking like the picture displayed on the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2012
I must have done something totally wrong because I followed the instructions and the mixture was sticking to my hands like crazy. The chocolate I melted were white chocolate chips (which didn't melt smoothly.) Also when rolling the balls in the chocolate the mixture started to run into the chocolate so, like someone else said, they looked like dirty ghosts. If I ever try to make these again I will chill the mixture so it doesn't stick to me and I will try a different kind of white chocolate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh Ann Rebholz

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Georgetown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Franklin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2012
These did not turn out like the picture. They looked like dirty little ghosts (due to cookie crumbs) I think we will do this for Halloween but not for Christmas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
If you really want to make it look like a melting snowman, you could also use the white fudge dipped Oreo's.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
Looking at this picture gave me an idea to just use Vanilla ice cream instead and then freeze them. Simpler, but still fun. My kids won't eat cream cheese. We will see how it goes....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2012
I have made these for years, but without the extra cookie underneath. You can really do a lot with mint oreos/dark chocolate, white chocolate/vanilla oreos, etc. All great. As another reviewer said, cool dough is the best. I freeze the cookie balls for a few hours before I dip them in chocolate. It makes it a lot easier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
28 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
YUMMY! Keep your dough cold and be careful not to overheat the white chocolate. Loved these!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2012
Simple and adorable! Big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-18 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cookie Balls

See the trick to making incredibly easy cookie balls.

Peanut Butter Balls III

Rich chocolate meets peanut butter in these deliciously simple treats.

Easy Decadent Truffles

Shockingly easy to make, these truffles are rich and deliciously decadent.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States